Author Topic: usigetskin failed  (Read 4526 times)

Swinny

usigetskin failed
« on: January 10, 2005, 06:28:44 PM »
Hi;
I'm running P4 with Win 98SE - 192 mb Ram.

I know that this is discussed in other links and threads, but I'm getting a little frustrated, because after searching through them all, I haven't been able to find a solution or answer that works....and as a result may have to change AV software.....unless I can solve the problem.
I get the above message when I try start a scan with Avast. After searching this forum, I think I've exhausted all known solutions. The frustration is that although there seems to have been lots of folks with this problem, I don't think I've seen a reply that says that their problem was fixed.
I have been using Avast for about 3 months now, with no problems. This just occured a few days ago. I haven't recently deleted anything reported by Spybot, which appears to exacerbate the problem, so I don't think that's the cause.
After I received the above message, here is briefly what I have done:
1) Unistalled and reinstalled Avast (haven't tried the special uninstall program from the website....will try that next)
2) Done the "Run" suggestion from the support site, but entereing "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX" gets an error message.
3) Gone into the ini file and changed "ODBC" to "XML"....no luck.
I'm running out of things to do, so any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
After a reboot this morning, I thought I'd try once more to run Avast (kinda that generally useless hope that "if I just try it one more time...maybe it will work" thing), but now Avast simply freezes itself and my computer.Thanks in advance for your help!
Cheers!

techie101

Re: usigetskin failed
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2005, 12:14:08 AM »
Swinny,

Do you have your computer set to download Windows updates automatically?
Sometimes a patch or update from Windows can cause this to happen.