Author Topic: Please help  (Read 2522 times)

Manos

Please help
« on: August 01, 2012, 03:49:57 PM »
Hello there. Here is my problem.
I am a Windows XP pro user, and I use AVAST free. One day my windows crushed so I had to repair them with my installization cd. After that, all programms were running perfect except my avast free. I couldn't update nor raise the protection shield. It was just running there. I tried to uninstall it but after every install the programm was still there. I tried to re-install it but it won't let me. I tried to, at least ,get it off the startup, but windows xp after every restart, was still running it. I installed Advanced systemcare 5 and uninstalled it and removed it from startup. The final state of my Avast now is : It's uninstalled from my pc but still running at every startup, without been able to do anything and I cannot install it again (or any other antivirus) Please help !
P.S. The avast folder, at programm files folder still exists.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2012, 03:56:48 PM by Manos »

Manos

Re: Please help
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 03:54:45 PM »
Oh and I am using the version : 6.0.1367
32 bit
Other security related programms : Zonealarm security suite, advanced systemcare 5

Offline essexboy

• Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 04:04:01 PM »
Download the latest version to your desktop from here
Download aswClear from here
Go to Programs and Features > add/remove and uninstall Avast
Reboot back to safe mode and run aswClear (select all versions of Avast ) once for each version, no need to reboot in between
After the last one reboot

Install the updated Avast

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 04:20:28 PM »
@ Manos