Author Topic: AVAST 4 tested in Germany's most important Computer Magazine (c't)  (Read 23489 times)

electronikk

Re: AVAST 4 tested in Germany's most important Computer Magazine (c't)
« Reply #30 on: January 14, 2005, 06:01:21 PM »
Hi everyone!

I'm new to avast! but  I have to admit I'm surprised at how good this thing actually  looks and feels! ;D
Unfortunately a few things confuse me: In the c't 01/05 avast! failed the on-access ITW-test  although "all tested scan-engines were configured for maximum scanning depth". ["Die Scanner konfigurierten wir stets auf die maximale Suchtiefe."]
Another thing that irritates me is the fact that in the ICSA Labs AV Laboratory Testing Report for October and November 2004 (http://www.icsalabs.com/) avast! doesn't show up in the list of programs that passed the ITW-test. (Please correct me if I'm wrong!)  :-\ (btw these are the latest tests i know (14.01.2005))

Don't get me wrong, I don't want to fuel any fire here. I just thought some of you might be intersted in this. I hope future tests will prove the true quality of avast! Nonetheless I will continue to use avast! and support it's effort's from time to time with the bitdefender free edition 7.2.  ;)

Keep it up everybody!!  :)
« Last Edit: January 14, 2005, 06:10:34 PM by electronikk »

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2005, 07:33:27 PM »
I hope future tests will prove the true quality of avast!

Ok... a very old-discussed topic: the effectiveness of the virus tests...
I won't start it again... You can browse the board.
Last time, Vlk gave me the reason that some tests are useless because the tester does not know how to configure and run a test that really compares the antivirus programs.
If I were you, I'll be self confident about your protection... Anyway, it's up to you: you must trust your security company  8)
The best things in life are free.

John-

« Reply #32 on: January 14, 2005, 09:53:07 PM »