Author Topic: "Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!  (Read 1360 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline IonicRipper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
"Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!
« on: August 09, 2012, 04:06:53 AM »
Few days ago, avast either did a engine and virus database update or a program update (wasnt paying attention) but after that the "Scan Computer" tab was almost completely blank except for the "Create Custom Scan" option.

I tried reinstalling but had the same result. I then decided to take it off altogether and try AVG which i did not like. I decided to give avast another chance but im still having the same problem. How can i fix this?

Offline IonicRipper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: "Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 05:11:29 AM »
I tried using the repair tool and rebooting
I tried doing a full re-installation
I tried running the uninstall utility

And yes i used the uninstall utility for AVG as well.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Pondus

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33322
Re: "Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2012, 09:05:06 AM »
Quote
I tried using the repair tool and rebooting
what repair tool?
the fix button on the gui....... or the on in ad/remove?


Quote
I tried running the uninstall utility
you tried.....what does that mean?
...you was not abe to run it...or did not do any change to your problem?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 09:28:01 AM by Pondus »
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline IonicRipper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: "Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2012, 03:04:15 PM »
Pondus: ...From the add/remove control panel and i did run the uninstall utility though it didnt help my problem

Offline IonicRipper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: "Scan Computer" problem: Cant scan!
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2012, 09:15:39 PM »
Getting a new error message...

"AvastUI.exe - Application Error

The instruction at 0x77be8dc9 referenced memory at
0x00000014. The memory could not be written.

Click on OK to terminate the program"

But its not stopping me from using avast (except for "Scan Now" obviously)

I did a scan with Malwarebytes but didnt find any malware.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 09:17:52 PM by IonicRipper »