Author Topic: transfering avast to new PC  (Read 14488 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tinykap

  • Guest
transfering avast to new PC
« on: January 14, 2005, 02:15:47 PM »
 I am getting a new PC, how can I transfer my  avast to it?

Spyros

  • Guest
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2005, 02:22:16 PM »
You should re-install it, using the setup.exe from avast's website. You may use the same registration key if you want, or ask for a new one...

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2005, 02:54:48 AM »
Does that also apply to the professional version, as exchanging my pc tomorrow..............thanks  :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47431
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2005, 03:03:18 AM »
Yes Susz. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2005, 03:05:50 AM »
Thank you xxxxxxx

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2005, 01:44:59 PM »
Does that also apply to the professional version, as exchanging my pc tomorrow..............thanks  :)

Yeah, but if you ask for a new key you must buy it  ;D
The best things in life are free.

techie101

  • Guest
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2005, 04:21:57 PM »
Come on Technical....Give the lady a break!  ;D

Susie,

He's kidding as you can see.  As long as Pro goes into "one" computer with one license, its' really ok.

The problem would be if a user kept BOTH the new and old computer operating with Pro on ONE license.  But we know that you would never do this.  :-X

Any problems with the new install, let us know.

What kind did you get?

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2005, 10:58:37 PM »
Thanks guys, a straight exchange for my hp 708, something wasn't configured right and  kept clashing they let me change it rather than do a recovery, as it was only 3 weeks old, it also seemed a little slow for a 2.6, really proud of myself installed my programs and broadband too, unistalled Nav and put Avast back on, and McAfee too  :D, it's taken me hours to do it though  :)

Any idea why Avast didn't ask me for my registration key when I installed it?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31205
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2005, 11:15:39 PM »
Quote
Any idea why Avast didn't ask me for my registration key when I installed it?
And it is registered? If so, that can only mean the "key" was already there when you installed Avast or you have a very special version of Avast.

Avast and McAfee? Hmm I don't think that is a good idea. (having them both on one system)
I would rather go for one AV on the system and a online one as 'backup'.

Anyway, let's hope you won't run into any problems for a long time. (even better, no problems at all)
Enjoy your new system.

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2005, 11:19:49 PM »
Thanks Eddy I frfgot to say McAfee is the free firewall with Aol, wouldn't put more than A/V on....... ;D


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47431
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2005, 11:20:55 PM »
Susz
right click on the a and look at About avast! and see if your reg. key is there.

Eddy
That's McAfee firewall ;D

Modify:
Susz your getting as fast as Eddy ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2005, 11:31:29 PM »
lol! excuse typo in previous message, after all this time eyes and fingers not co-ordinating ::)

ummm, is the registration key the same as the licence number? as I havn't entered the licence key I had originally ???

bob10000

  • Guest
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2005, 11:46:58 PM »
How did you put everything back on the new computer?
You can just replace that Key with the one you have.

Offline SUSZANNAH

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1954
  • There We Are Then
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2005, 11:49:11 PM »
 ;D ;D makes me wonder too, but I managed it !!!!!!!!!!!!

bob10000

  • Guest
Re: transfering avast to new PC
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2005, 11:51:56 PM »
You are getting smarter every day.
Pretty soon we'll have to be careful or you'll use this:
Quote
Let's see what damage I can do with this new system