Author Topic: Windows and Avast firewall, Will they conflict?  (Read 18247 times)

Joshg94

Windows and Avast firewall, Will they conflict?
« on: August 30, 2012, 06:31:02 PM »
Ok hey guys im new here and have had a Mac for a few years so im not very good with all this anti virus stuff..

I have asked this question on a few forums and all i get is people saying yes and no and no definite answer :s

Will the windows 7 firewall conflict with the Avast internet security firewall i will be buying later, my track record with windows pc's has always been really bad when it comes to being protected so i want to get this one right.

I would like a reason why it wouldn't conflict or why it would, whichever it is.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!  :)

Offline CraigB

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows and Avast firewall, Will they conflict?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 06:35:13 PM »
Avast designed there firewall to work hand in hand with the windows firewall, the windows one can be disabled but would be better left on as the avast firewall does not yet support IPv6.

DBone

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2012, 07:55:50 PM »
Are you behind a router NAT firewall? If yes, then my personal opinion would be to not install the avast! firewall, and go with Windows 7 firewall. Your NAT firewall will do most of the heavy lifting anyway, and unless you need/want outgoing notifications, the W7 firewall will be more than sufficient............It's what I would do.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 09:50:33 PM »
Personally that would be a big mistake:
The windows 7 firewall has outbound protection disabled by default, even when you enable that outbound protection, it is rules based and the user has to define the rules. For the majority of people this may be too much to define these custom rules.