Author Topic: Am I Well Protected + Advice Please!  (Read 6195 times)

Joshg94

Am I Well Protected + Advice Please!
« on: August 31, 2012, 12:33:09 AM »
Ok im new to Windows pc's and i have just got my first gaming pc and considering how much it all cost i would like it to be as protected as possible, i have been asking questions on other forums and i have come up with a few different programs i am thinking of using.

For my anti virus software i will be using Avast internet security (With a firewall), My question with this is will the firewall conflict with the one that comes with windows 7? knowone has really answered this question and its the most important imo.

I also plan on using Malwarebytes, but i have a question about this.
Should i also download an anti-spyware program as well as this? or is Malwarebytes good with spyware as well, i had super anti spyware in mind for that.

All i will ever do on this pc is gaming and youtube, i have a laptop i do all the rest so there is no need to worry that i might visit any malicious sites 

So these are my questions and would very much appreciate on advice on whether it will be decent protection!
If you have any other programs that i need to use then please dont hesitate to say!

iroc9555

Re: Am I Well Protected + Advice Please!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 12:52:22 AM »
Hi Joshg94.

For my anti virus software i will be using Avast internet security (With a firewall), My question with this is will the firewall conflict with the one that comes with windows 7? knowone has really answered this question and its the most important imo.

Avast! firewall was built to work alongside Windows firewall so you do not need to turn it off.

Should i also download an anti-spyware program as well as this? or is Malwarebytes good with spyware as well, i had super anti spyware in mind for that.