Author Topic: Make a whole subtree in disk not scanned  (Read 2330 times)

PatrickV

Make a whole subtree in disk not scanned
« on: September 01, 2012, 04:54:38 PM »
Hi There,

I'm a developer using Visual Studio and have Avast installed.
I Really like Avast for what it is doing, but sometimes it get's in the way of my development work.
On slower machines, Avast is using precious cycles scanning my source-code and the generated DLL's and Executable
On all machines the Sandbox becomes annoying because every time I start a newly created version of my program the Sandbox ask's if the file is trustworthy.

So I end up stopping the Sandbox (or switching of files with a low reputation), but that kind of defeats it's purpose. I expect a new virus to not have a high reputation. ;)
I know I can exclude certain files from the Sandbox, but the problem is that my project creates hundreds of new Executables and DLL's. It' kind of a lot of work to exclude them one by one...:)

Now my question is this: would it be possible to exclude a while directory and all it's subdirectories from being scanned by Avast.
That way I could just make a part of my disk unchecked, but since the name of the dev-folder is not something like c:\Program Files that is probably not a very big problem.

Hope you can provide me with a positive answer on how to do this!

TIA & Regards,

Patrick

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Make a whole subtree in disk not scanned
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 05:39:53 PM »
Whilst it isn't a thing that can be done in the AutoSandbox exclusions as it won't allow you to select a folder, only files. That said, it allows wildcards, so you could try this (no guarantee that it would work):