Author Topic: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??  (Read 15964 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2005, 07:54:06 PM »
Here you go:)

I ran a full system scan with Avast yesterday plus Spybot and Ad Aware, and I ran Disk Cleanup.  I also finally got round to setting up the Avast screensaver yesterday.

Sorry about the error in posting.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86663
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2005, 09:16:29 PM »
There are a few Unknown and some possibly nasty, see http://hijackthis.de/logfiles/805e96c7430763834c608747e2fef5cd.html.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2005, 11:01:00 PM »
First Steps is the software my supplier installed to tell me how to use the puter as a newbie.

Bella Online I added myself because I write as teh Bella Online Tatting Editor and couldn't get into the Bella Online chat room - I was trying adding it as a trusted site to see if that worked but it didn't.

The others I will get onto tomorrow as it's getting late.  Thank you!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2005, 11:04:59 PM by Gillie2tat »

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2005, 12:28:19 AM »
OK I've disabled Active X in Internet Explorer - the only time I use that is go to go Bella Online for the chat and there are advertisements there which may contain Active X controls.  That's probably where I got it, or from the My Yahoo which is my homepage in my web browsers.  An Active X control doesn't work in Netscape or Firefox because it is Internet Explorer specific.

I use the Google Toolbar, ICQ Lite and Yahoo Messenger so I left those controls alone.  I do not use Windows Messenger and thought I had that disabled.

I removed the mediaplex ones and that one at No. 17 in the list, but the five marked as protocols down near the bottom which are marked for removal as unsafe I wasn't quite sure about - will it be OK to remove these?  They are in the system folder.

I ran Spybot and immunized, and I downloaded the Spywareblaster program from the link within Spybot and installed that as I've heard it recommended several places.

The Adobe Gamma.loader.ink one I haven't a clue what it's related to, but I do have Adobe products on the puter - Adobe Acrobat 6 and Adobe PHotoshop Elements 2.0.  Could it be related to either of those?

Thank you DavidR for your help!

Always good to get a little more secure:)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2005, 12:38:49 AM by Gillie2tat »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86663
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2005, 12:48:45 AM »
Do a google search on files that you are unsure of (the fact that they are in the system directory is often to confuse and stop people getting rid of them, the first one hsppp.dll and wowctl2.dll both have loads of hits pointing to a trojan clicker. I'm surprised AdAware and S&D didn't catch them.

Windows messenger service can be disabled.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2005, 01:17:19 AM »
The Adobe Gamma.loader.ink one I haven't a clue what it's related to, but I do have Adobe products on the puter - Adobe Acrobat 6 and Adobe PHotoshop Elements 2.0.  Could it be related to either of those?

Sure. Adobe Gamma is a part of Adobe Photoshop Elements.
Anyway, you can delete the entry if you want  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2005, 08:50:24 AM »
I'm surprised AdAware and S&D didn't catch them.

Me too!

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2005, 08:59:25 AM »
Looks as though I'm clean now except for No. 17.

I have found that this appears each time after running my e-mail client, Eudora which I have used for years.  Wonder if it's time to uninstall and use Pegasus instead!  It does have advertisements in it because I use the sponsored version, wonder if it's that.

I tested this by running Hijack This before I launched anything other than my normal startup items, then I launched Eudora, checked mail and shut it down again, then I ran Hijack This again.  No. 17 wasn't there before I ran Eudora, it was there after - so I'm thinking it's in Eudora.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2005, 09:03:33 AM by Gillie2tat »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86663
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #23 on: January 24, 2005, 02:39:15 PM »
Hopefully you are in the clear now, regular use of hijackthis will identify any new activity, so you can keep on top of it.

Remember google really is your friend.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Gillie2tat

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #24 on: January 24, 2005, 07:23:40 PM »
Thanks very much for your time, advice and help:) I'll keep an eye on Eudora because some of its advertisement activity has been a little suspicious in the past.  Need to read up on some other e-mail clients I think.

The computer seemed a lot less sluggish in booting up this evening so I think that one or more of these items was causing problems.  Great to have it sorted out:)

philbobilbo

  • Guest
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #25 on: January 24, 2005, 07:50:04 PM »
Well, back to the original topic,  I tried the very same scan in Safe mode, and after about an hour of scanning, it locked up on an archived file.   My guess is that this program just doesn't "carry the mail" very well with the old 98 OS.   I like the program, but it's coming off my 98 PC.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86663
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2005, 08:13:45 PM »
That may be your guess, but there are many, many happy win98, avast users who are not suffering slow scanning. Don't just give up help us to help you, let us know a little about your system.

CPU, RAM, try and reduce the programs running in the background that are not required. Run hijackthis, it will show exactly what is running and we can try and identify what may be slowing down the system.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #27 on: January 25, 2005, 01:33:38 PM »
Well, back to the original topic,  I tried the very same scan in Safe mode, and after about an hour of scanning, it locked up on an archived file.   My guess is that this program just doesn't "carry the mail" very well with the old 98 OS.   I like the program, but it's coming off my 98 PC.

Which is the file name, path and extension?
Do you have enough free HDD space?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast 4.x scanner slooowww!??
« Reply #28 on: January 25, 2005, 01:48:36 PM »
Well, back to the original topic,  I tried the very same scan in Safe mode, and after about an hour of scanning, it locked up on an archived file. 

What exactly does it mean, "locked up"? Any hard disk activity? Can the "Stop" button be pressed?
Do you know what archive is it?