Author Topic: Kasperkey USB Scan  (Read 7129 times)

Devin Skyz

Kasperkey USB Scan
« on: September 15, 2012, 03:04:43 PM »
Hi Guys. I'm new to this Avast Forum. A guy I'm friends with has Kaspersky Antivirus. I obviously boast and say "Avast is the best, it even calls my name to alert me if I have a virus. He just laughs. The only thing I like about Kaspersky is the fact that when you put in your USB disk, Kaspersky automatically jumps into action, scanning the USB, and when there are no threats, it allows Windows Autoplay to continue(open files, play music, view pictures etc.). Can Avast! do that? If it can how?

iroc9555

Re: Kasperkey USB Scan
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2012, 03:37:52 PM »
Devin Skyz welcome to Avast! forum.

Some users like this idea of Avast! auto-scanning anything that is attached to the comp, but Avast! is smarter. Why waste valuable time and CPU to scan something that has not got into motion yet ?

Avast! will scan any autorun in the drive, but it would let the other files alone untill you execute them.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2012, 03:56:33 PM »
Hi Guys. I'm new to this Avast Forum. A guy I'm friends with has Kaspersky Antivirus. I obviously boast and say "Avast is the best, it even calls my name to alert me if I have a virus. He just laughs. The only thing I like about Kaspersky is the fact that when you put in your USB disk, Kaspersky automatically jumps into action, scanning the USB, and when there are no threats, it allows Windows Autoplay to continue(open files, play music, view pictures etc.). Can Avast! do that? If it can how?

Personally I don't want my AV to scan all of a USB device that I plug in, I have a couple of 16GB USB sticks used for image backups, etc. that would take time to scan the complete USB when the exercise is pointless.