Author Topic: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version  (Read 5438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rudylegh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
New Notebook HP Dv7 with Windows 7, it had Norton installed but not activated. I removed Norton by Control Panel disinstallation function.


Then Downloaded Avast free edition,  I am sure it was the free version .exe

When I launch installation, I see free version on all panels, it seems proceeding.. at the end I see a message Avast stopped working error

When I restarted pc, I see Avast Pro Version running with all messages ok... !!

The problem is that I want the free Version..


Please help me.

Thanks a lot.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36760
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 12:50:58 PM »
where did you download it from...

anyway uninstall.... and download here   http://filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus/
« Last Edit: September 17, 2012, 02:04:25 PM by Pondus »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11045
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 01:39:29 PM »
After following Pondus's instructions

It would also help to make sure all remnants of Norton are removed by running there removal tool which you can obtain here http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/

After running the tool reboot and then run a search for Norton and Symantec and delet anything found, once you've completed the removal of Norton then reinstall the avast version Pondus instucted you to save.

Offline rudylegh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2012, 01:51:18 PM »
After following Pondus's instructions

It would also help to make sure all remnants of Norton are removed by running there removal tool which you can obtain here http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/

After running the tool reboot and then run a search for Norton and Symantec and delet anything found, once you've completed the removal of Norton then reinstall the avast version Pondus instucted you to save.


MANY THANKS

just to be sure.. first I run removal tool + search residual objects.. THEN reinstall the avast version by Pondus.. correct?
 

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36760
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 02:03:44 PM »
yepp   ;)

Offline rudylegh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2012, 03:38:13 PM »
the matter is not easy

in fact I found a few objects named symantec or norton, and I deleted

then I downloaded from hippo link and launch installation of free avast, but it made exactly the same steps, stopping with a message "avast has stopped to work"

this time I cut and paste the detailed message (it is in italian since I am in Roma), I hope you can take some ideas to solve (see at the end of this post)


But any way it seems very strange that I am sure that at the next power-on I will see Avast PRO (not free as installed) without any error ..


MANY THANKS


Firma problema:
  Nome evento problema:   APPCRASH
  Nome applicazione:   avast.setup
  Versione applicazione:   7.0.1466.549
  Timestamp applicazione:   503350c4
  Nome modulo con errori:   OLEAUT32.dll
  Versione modulo con errori:   6.1.7600.16872
  Timestamp modulo con errori:   4e5873c1
  Codice eccezione:   c0000005
  Offset eccezione:   0001df17
  Versione SO:   6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
  ID impostazioni locali:   1040
  Informazioni aggiuntive 1:   0a9e
  Ulteriori informazioni 2:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Ulteriori informazioni 3:   0a9e
  Ulteriori informazioni 4:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36760
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2012, 04:05:15 PM »
google translate

==============================================

Problem signature:
   Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
   Application Name: avast.setup
   Application Version: 7.0.1466.549
   Application Timestamp: 503350c4
   Fault Module Name: OLEAUT32.dll
   Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16872
   Fault Module Timestamp: 4e5873c1
   Exception Code: c0000005
   Exception Offset: 0001df17
   OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
   Locale ID: 1040
   Additional Information 1: 0a9e
   Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
   Additional Information 3: 0a9e
   Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

=======================================================

Offline rudylegh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2012, 04:36:35 PM »
the problem is still open

I want to use Avast free, not the Avast Pro, I have followed all your advices but it seems impossibile to make the download of free edition work..

hope to have support again, thanks a lot :)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11045
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2012, 05:28:54 PM »
Where do happen to be downloading avast from ? download this copy http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe and the removal tool http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility and save.

Proceed to uninstall avast via Programs and Features then reboot to safemode ( tap f8 while starting the system ) and run the removal tool for all versions of avast 5-6-7 you have ever installed, once completed reboot back to normal mode and install the saved copy of avast.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44276
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2012, 10:08:13 PM »
the problem is still open

I want to use Avast free, not the Avast Pro, I have followed all your advices but it seems impossibile to make the download of free edition work..

hope to have support again, thanks a lot :)
The problem isn't in the download but when you do the installation make sure that you install the free version not the internet suit.
When you register the program, make sure after the registration screen that you do not install the trial of the internet suite.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rudylegh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2012, 10:17:41 PM »

The problem isn't in the download but when you do the installation make sure that you install the free version not the internet suit.
When you register the program, make sure after the registration screen that you do not install the trial of the internet suite.
[/quote]

I am sure I downloaded and ran the Free version, then the error when installation was about to finish.. after restart of computer I see the Pro version correctly running, but I did not ask it .. that's all, I have installed the Free version today on another pc (of my son) and had no problems

I will follow the procedure suggested today by craigb and see if it finally works  :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44276
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Downloaded avast free but when ran .exe I see it installed Pro Version
« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2012, 10:20:20 PM »
If it does not, let me know and I'll produce a step by step video
so you don't wind up with the pro and/or the Chrome browser and Google Search for IE.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq