Author Topic: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected possible bug  (Read 1809 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zenzaney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
for the last 2 days avast has been updating fine butt the icon in the task tray says that my system is not fully protected. should i uninstall the new version and reinstall it ? i think there might be a bug with this version like there was the last one.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2012, 08:42:12 PM by zenzaney »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9148
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2012, 07:00:33 PM »
I'd say try a repair of avast and a reboot first, click avast as to uninstall then click on repair once you recieve the popup screen and reboot when completed.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71873
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2012, 07:39:52 PM »
for the last 2 days avast has been updating fine butt the icon in the task tray says that my system is not fully protected. should i uninstall the new version and reinstall it ? i think there might be a bug with this version like there was the last one.

You don't say exactly why you aren't protected ?

In the avastUI, Summary section, use the 'Show Details' option to expand and this should then show exactly which shield isn't working or if your program or virus definitions, etc. are out of date.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2218 R2-SP2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.1, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline zenzaney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2012, 08:37:28 PM »
david that is just the warning it shows. there is nothing wrong. like i said it might be bugged. its just the icon in the task tray that shows the warning. everything is shown as working fine when i open the interface,

craig thanks for the help but how do i do a repair? when i click avast in the start menu it only shows the program.   there is nothing for repair even if i were to go to control panel . plz be more clear as to what you are trying to tell me.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2012, 08:41:15 PM by zenzaney »

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26910
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2012, 08:43:06 PM »
You go to ad/remove program and select uninstall, then on the pop up box there is a option to repair
wait 2minutes and reboot
« Last Edit: September 23, 2012, 08:49:43 PM by Pondus »
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline zenzaney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected possible bug
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2012, 08:47:52 PM »
thank you. i wasnt sure if that would work. ill try it. wish me luck. ok it worked. i guess the settings i had were the problem. so thanks for everyones help this can now be closed.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2012, 08:57:55 PM by zenzaney »

Offline zenzaney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected possible bug
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2012, 02:29:43 AM »
it seems that the solution given was only a short term fix. i had turned my computer off like i usually do and when i came back and turned it on to use it avast is having the same problem. are there any other solutions that i can try.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3657
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: avast has warning that says that its not fully protected possible bug
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2012, 02:38:42 AM »
it seems that the solution given was only a short term fix. i had turned my computer off like i usually do and when i came back and turned it on to use it avast is having the same problem. are there any other solutions that i can try.

You could try a 'CLean Install':

Download the latest Avast version that you need and save then also download the aswclear.exe tool from here http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility and save, try to uninstall Avast normally first ( if unable to uninstall boot straight to safemode ) and when uninstalled reboot your system into safe mode ( tap f8 while starting the system ) and run the aswclear tool that you saved for all versions of Avast ever installed, when completed reboot back into normal mode and install the Avast copy you saved, reboot and add your license file.

Let us know if your issue is resolved. :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT  W8.1 64Bit/750GB HD/ 16GB Ram/ Avast Secureline
**HP Compaq Buisness  W8.1 Pro 64Bit/1TB HD/ 8GB Ram/ Avast Secureline     
*Dell Inspiron  xpSP4 PRO 32 Bit/ Avast Premier 2015.10.2.2218
Layered Security Protection       Backup & Recovery> WD 500GB HD/ Macrium Reflect
Do not confuse Kindness for Weakness