Author Topic: Update Size  (Read 3161 times)

Jimmer64

Update Size
« on: September 26, 2012, 07:20:10 PM »
I've been using Avast for the past 4 years. I don't allow any auto updates because my internet connection is slow (not by choice) and updates pretty much bring the computer to a crawl. Through habit I check for and install virus definition updates manually every morning as daily routine. Normally I see 1 of 2 steps as the new definitions are downloaded and installed. Obviously these daily updates vary in size. Today, however, the update goes onto step 3 and the progress bar has barely moved after nearly an hour. I've cancelled and tried this several times, rebooted, and get the same results every time.

So please, can you inform me why there is such a huge set of updates on this day? It feels as though the system is trying to download the entire database of virus definitions or a program update - not just today's updates.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2012, 07:22:31 PM by Jimmer64 »

Offline mikaelrask

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
Re: Update Size
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, 07:24:28 PM »
hey and welcome to the forum. the size could depend on that avast have add/remove malware from there database.
Windows 8.1 amd a10-5700 64 bit
12 GB ram 1 tb hard drive. Avast 18, MBAM

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2012, 07:41:03 PM »
Virus update history   http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

they also sometimes release engine/program changes with the VPS ......maybe thats it ?......that will not show at the above link

Jimmer64

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2012, 08:01:51 PM »
Appreciate the link Pondus but that just outputs definition names with no related size of update info. As for the program updates those are also done manually because of their size. I am not trying to update the program and I've never seen a program update included in a virus definition update.