Author Topic: SLOW SCANNING  (Read 16888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #30 on: December 16, 2013, 06:34:03 PM »
Why do you say it is not the same problem ? It is the same.

I have AIS 2014 and since it updated from ver.8 I've had this problem. Your link leads to a Beta version.
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #31 on: December 16, 2013, 06:42:36 PM »
No, it doesn't have to be the same.
Each system is different.
Each person is running other applications.
Each person has made other settings.

And no, it is not really a beta version.
The stages are:
1) Developer version.
2) Alpha version.
3) Beta version.
4) RC (Release Candidate).
5) Final / official release.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #32 on: December 16, 2013, 06:52:23 PM »
OK then, the problem is similar. Is this a better term ?  Now, how do I fix this ?
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #33 on: December 16, 2013, 06:54:16 PM »
Why do you say it is not the same problem ? It is the same.

I have AIS 2014 and since it updated from ver.8 I've had this problem. Your link leads to a Beta version.

I notice you are running both avast and SAS Pro at the same time.
Not a good idea because SAS Pro has a resident anti-spyware module
which has been known to cause/create conflicts with avast. My advice is to
disable the real-time protection in SAS but leave the auto-update enabled.

edit: What file? What are your settings? What other security software?
        What else is running on your machine? What is your CPU speed?

        Like I said too many variables!
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 06:57:16 PM by Para-Noid »
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #34 on: December 16, 2013, 06:59:00 PM »
Hi, thank's.
The real-time protection in SAS is disabled and updates are on auto.

Edit: updated spec's.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 07:04:59 PM by COMPUTIAC »
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #35 on: December 16, 2013, 07:08:25 PM »
Hi, thank's.
The real-time protection in SAS is disabled and updates are on auto.

How are our scan times after running several scans?
Are they improving? Both quick and full scans?

Your downloads are scanned by the file shield.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #36 on: December 16, 2013, 07:16:00 PM »
Hi, thank's.
The real-time protection in SAS is disabled and updates are on auto.

How are our scan times after running several scans?
Are they improving? Both quick and full scans?

Your downloads are scanned by the file shield.

Full and quick scans are very fast, they are not and never were the problem.

When I download a anything, from anywhere, I save it to the desktop. Then, right click on it, this give a choice to scan it with Avast or SAS or MBAM.
Scanning is with Avast is like cement going thru a funnel, very slow. This takes several minutes at the least.

When I scan with either SAS or MBAM, scanning is very fast, maybe a couple of seconds.
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #37 on: December 16, 2013, 07:50:19 PM »
Are the files packed or unpacked?
By default avast scans only certain packers.
GUI>Settings>Active Protection>click on the file shield "sprocket"

If unpacked and your right click scans are still slow you may need to do a repair.

edit: My right click scan are finished instantly.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #38 on: December 16, 2013, 08:01:19 PM »
My settings are the same as yours.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 08:09:57 PM by COMPUTIAC »
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #39 on: December 17, 2013, 05:19:30 PM »
Updated to 2014.9.0.2011 today. Still have the same problem !

Is there any way to fix this ?
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #40 on: December 18, 2013, 01:09:24 AM »
No one has a way to do anything about this ?
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline drake127

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 322
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #41 on: December 18, 2013, 01:42:21 AM »
You can send us a process dump of AvastUI.exe and AvastSvc.exe while it scans. We can look where it wanders.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #42 on: December 18, 2013, 01:43:57 AM »
You can send us a process dump of AvastUI.exe and AvastSvc.exe while it scans. We can look where it wanders.

OK, how do I do this ?
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)

Offline drake127

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 322
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #43 on: December 18, 2013, 01:47:46 AM »
In Task Manager, right click the process (you might check to show processes from all users) and select "Create Dump File" or similar. Send me the resulting files (kominek _at_ avast.com) or upload them somewhere and send me links.

Offline COMPUTIAC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: SLOW SCANNING
« Reply #44 on: December 18, 2013, 02:15:53 AM »
I made the file C:\Users\COMPUT~1\AppData\Local\Temp\AvastUI
but can't find it. If I enter this in the start box, windows says it can't open it. How do I find it and copy it ?
Thank's, COMPUTIAC

ASUS  M5A99X EVO R2.0 - MB, AMD FX-8350 - CPU, 16GB RAM, Win 7 Home Prem.Avast 2014.9.0.2011, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro, SpywareBlaster, Firefox(latest)