Author Topic: Ran scan, found infected files, can't get rid of them  (Read 45705 times)

snordie

Ran scan, found infected files, can't get rid of them
« on: September 29, 2012, 05:42:07 PM »
I'm new to Avast.  I used to use Spybot on my PC, but now I'm a Mac user so I got the free version of Avast 7.0.  I ran the full system scan, and it showed infected files.  At the bottom where it says "Repair, Delete, Move, Finder, Export" the only option that's not greyed out is "Export."  So I highlighted a virus and the greyed out options lighted up for me to use.  So I clicked delete.  It says on the right "deleted."  However after doing this to eight infected files, the options greyed out again and wouldn't let me finish.  I thought maybe it only lets you delete so many at a time.  So I ran the whole scan again.  The files I thought I deleted are still there, still marked "deleted" but it still won't let me use any options other than Export, even if I highlight the infected files like it let me before.  Are these files I deleted actually deleted or are they waiting for me to do some function.  The File or Edit menus have options but again they are greyed out and not available for me to try.  I would actually rather just quarantine them, but can't find this option either.