Author Topic: Please help!!! Trojan and Malware ruining my sleep HELP!!!  (Read 2629 times)

jiyala

Please help!!! Trojan and Malware ruining my sleep HELP!!!
« on: October 02, 2012, 08:24:38 PM »
Hi -

I'm Alex. Im an accountant and not very good with computers. I have an older Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop, about 5 year old at least. This is my only personal computer.

I always had Symantic, but it expired over a year ago, I think it still worked to a degree. A few days ago my computer got very slow, and I started getting Trojan virus alerts from my outdated Symantic, (alerts were all the time). So I downloaded Avast Free Anti-virus. Upon loading, pretty much every 30 seconds, I would get an alert from Avast that a threat was blocked (Trojan and also malware), every 30 seconds. Avast would give the link to the symantic folder and say that symantic was the process. I finally uninstalled the Symantic and the problem went away. I also came to your forum and found this link:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=cldr7vo0il11luq7bc5pfo4is7&topic=53253.0

This link gave good advice, I follwed it:
1. ran Adwcleaner - found stuff that was deleted
2. ran Malwarebyte anti malware - found stuff that was deleted
3. ran OTL - Not sure if it picked anything or not
4. ran aswmbre.exe - I think it picked 1 item, I'm not sure how to delete it

I ran all of the above in a row a couple time. My computer is much better now, but I still believe I have a virus hiding because aswmbre.exe still catches one, I'm not sure how to delete it.

Please help this bean counter, and I will pass the good karma around. Thanking you in advance.

P.S. The link / instructions said that I would get 2 log files for the OTL, but I think I only got one.

BTW, my hats off to you guys, as this is such a technical and complicated work.

In return, please do not hesitate to ask me any tax related questions.

Offline essexboy

• Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot