Author Topic: Cant update  (Read 5991 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline schicic_k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Cant update
« on: October 04, 2012, 02:48:25 AM »
I got the same problem that everyone else is having with avast 7. but no-one is sending any logs so im sending a log of the failed repair for yens to read. i dont know how to save it as a log so its just on notepad :)

Offline schicic_k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cant update
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2012, 02:52:08 AM »
03.10.201219:36:14Started: 03.10.2012, 19:36:14
03.10.201219:36:14Operation set to INST_OP_UNKNOWN
03.10.201219:36:14Old version: 5ba (1466)
03.10.201219:36:14SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/5.00 (ais-1466;p)
03.10.201219:36:14Running SETUP_AIS-5ba (1466)
03.10.201219:36:14Operating system: Windows Vista ver 6.0, build 6002, sp 2.0 [Service Pack 2]
03.10.201219:36:14Memory: 41% load. Phys:1749240/2097151K free, Page:4194303/4194303K free, Virt:2017576/2097024K free
03.10.201219:36:14Computer WinName: SCHICIC-PC
03.10.201219:36:14Windows Net User: Schicic-PC\Schicic
03.10.201219:36:14Cmdline: /uninstwiz
03.10.201219:36:14Old version: 5ba (1466)
03.10.201219:36:14Deleted registry: Software\AVAST Software\Avast\UpdateReady
03.10.201219:36:14Using temp: C:\Users\Schicic\AppData\Local\Temp\_asw_aisI.tm~a00800 (99063M free)
03.10.201219:36:14SGW32AIS::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
03.10.201219:36:14DldSrc set to inet
03.10.201219:36:14SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/5.00 (ais-1466;p)
03.10.201219:36:14Computer DnsName: Schicic-PC
03.10.201219:36:14Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.0.2
03.10.201219:36:14Setup GUI DLL not found at location: C:\Users\Schicic\AppData\Local\Temp\_asw_aisI.tm~a00800\SetupGUI.dll
03.10.201219:36:15Setup GUI has been successfuly loaded from EXE.
03.10.201219:36:15Installed in: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5 (99063M free)
03.10.201219:36:15LoadState: Edition=1
03.10.201219:36:15SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
03.10.201219:36:15SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
03.10.201219:36:15Part prg_ais-5ba is installed
03.10.201219:36:15IsInstalledPartVpuOkay: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\Setup\part-vps_win32-12100301.vpx does not exist
03.10.201219:36:15Part vps_win32-12100302 was guessed as installed
03.10.201219:36:15Part setup_ais-5ba is installed
03.10.201219:36:15Part jrog-a7 is installed
03.10.201219:36:15IsInstalledPartVpuOkay: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\Setup\part-jrog2-5f7.vpx does not exist
03.10.201219:36:15Part jrog2-5f8 was guessed as installed
03.10.201219:36:15Old version: 5ba (1466)
03.10.201219:36:16SetExistingFilesBitmap: 1093->450->445
03.10.201219:36:16GUID: ad83ec88-207e-4b7e-9e60-d05a351fec10
03.10.201219:36:16Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 167 (maintenance:0)
03.10.201219:36:16SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download374 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
03.10.201219:36:16SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
03.10.201219:36:16SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
03.10.201219:36:19Operation set to INST_OP_REPAIR
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcessAIS::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcessAIS::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_INSTALL_PACKAGES )
03.10.201219:36:19Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_INSTALL_PACKAGES )
03.10.201219:36:19Entering:UpdateInstallPackages
03.10.201219:36:20LoadPartInfo: jrog = jrog-a7 returned 00000000
03.10.201219:36:20LoadPartInfo: jrog2 = jrog2-5f8 returned 00000000
03.10.201219:36:20LoadPartInfo: program = prg_ais-5ba returned 00000000
03.10.201219:36:20LoadPartInfo: setup = setup_ais-5ba returned 00000000
03.10.201219:36:20LoadPartInfo: vps = vps_win32-12100302 returned 00000000
03.10.201219:36:20FilterOutExistingFiles: 450 & 445 = 5
03.10.201219:36:20IsFullOkay: vps_32-8fe.vpx - not okay (doesn't exist)
03.10.201219:36:21SetDownloadBits: vps_32 setting 1 diffs to process
03.10.201219:36:21IsFullOkay: vps_win32-911.vpx - not okay (doesn't exist)
03.10.201219:36:21SetDownloadBits: vps_win32 setting 1 diffs to process
03.10.201219:36:21ArePartsInstallable: 0
03.10.201219:36:21Error processing packages. 0x20000011


thats the log if you dont wanna open it

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85103
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Cant update
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2012, 03:14:45 AM »
There are numerous other topics on this:

For those of you who are are using the regular release version 7.0.1466, and the repair failed - 'Error processing packages. Please use full update.' - then this worked for me on my win7 netbook with 7.0.1466:

Then you will need to do a Manual update of VPS - avast! Virus Definitions Update - Manual Download VPS Update (virus definitions, vpsupd.exe, approx 67.5 MB). - Save the file to your hard disk, locate where you saved it and double click it and that should carry out the virus definitions update.

If you don't want to go through that process, then wait for the avast team to resolve it, which hopefully won't take too long.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Cant update
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2012, 03:18:39 AM »
is there really any significant danger to staying with 121003-1 until avast! fixes this?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85103
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Cant update
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2012, 03:30:51 AM »
Not really avast will work as normal albeit with a very slightly out of date VPS version.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Cant update
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2012, 03:50:20 AM »
so then why are people panicking so much?

Offline schicic_k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cant update
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2012, 03:59:51 AM »
people might be worried about it because when ever someone sees that red pop-up they automaticly think its a virus or virus related. not the failed update or a problem with avast themselfs

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85103
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Cant update
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2012, 04:11:00 AM »
so then why are people panicking so much?

I haven't the slightest idea, some are reporting that the update is working now. But it is reporting it is up to date with VPS 121003-1, yet on my other system I have 121003-2.

I think that they have pulled the VPS 121003-2 version so the update check doesn't fail as it did before.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline schicic_k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cant update
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2012, 04:30:54 AM »
ya but it seems to be stuck on jrog2-5fv.vpx               it just says "file downloaded:jrog2-5f7.vpx"   is it a big file or something?

Offline schicic_k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cant update
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2012, 04:37:21 AM »
misprint 5fv not 5f7   ;D

Offline True Indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 710
  • A Good Old Indian!
Re: Cant update
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2012, 08:33:27 AM »
OK something weird is going on here :o

It seems like the update has been pushed to Virustotal avast engine and to the online scanner of avast!

It doesnt seem to be out to users...How ever, the avast! team must remove the 1201003-2 update history from avast.com/virus-update-history in order to not to confuse the users.

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2398
Re: Cant update
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2012, 09:47:37 AM »
I just clicked on my last popup and it showed a red warning saying "The last attempt to update your virus definitions was unsuccessful. To ensure you are protected try again to    update now."  Yesterday the latest version was 121003-2 and when I did the manual update a few minutes ago the number went down to 121003-1.  I have mine set to auto-update so why isn't it working and why did the number's go down?  This makes no sense!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85103
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Cant update
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2012, 01:25:45 PM »
As I said in my earlier post Reply #7 above:
Quote
I think that they have pulled the VPS 121003-2 version so the update check doesn't fail as it did before.

That is why it is showing 121003-1 as the latest update when you try an update check. This gives them time to find the reason for the problem in the bad VPS update without the problem 'for users' spreading as people update.

So I would expect an update later today that will fully resolve the VPS version number mismatch. But having pulled the bad VPS version, the system should be working.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2398
Re: Cant update
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2012, 02:27:13 PM »
I just clicked on summary, there is a green check mark and says my system is fully protected.

Offline True Indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 710
  • A Good Old Indian!
Re: Cant update
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2012, 02:28:51 PM »
I just clicked on summary, there is a green check mark and says my system is fully protected.

As said earlier,your system is fully protected..apart from a slightly outdated definations ;D