Author Topic: Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..  (Read 2428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zoe000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..
« on: October 07, 2012, 04:56:34 PM »
Hello, I am sorry for being a techno spaz, please can I ask for advice from someone wiser!

I have just ordered and installed Avast internet security, set up fine apart from Firewall.
I get a notice to say it isnt on, and I cant switch it on because the "Firewall not available"
I have version 7.0.1466
OS 64-Bit.
Windows 7
but am using Windows 2010   and 365 for work purposes. (Dont know if that makes a differrence?)

What do I need to do????

Thanks for your help.

Offline mikaelrask

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1557
Re: Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 05:46:39 PM »
hey! 
Try a repair of avast and if that doesn't solve it try a clean installation from scratch.

are you using sp 4 with windows 2000 also?

http://www.avast.com/en-se/free-antivirus-download#tab4
Windows 8.1 amd a10-5700 64 bit
12 GB ram 1 tb hard drive. Avast 18, MBAM

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11112
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 06:05:48 PM »
hey! 
Try a repair of avast and if that doesn't solve it try a clean installation from scratch.

are you using sp 4 with windows 2000 also?

http://www.avast.com/en-se/free-antivirus-download#tab4
mikaelrask The OP is using a paid version on win7 64.



Zoe000 - what AV was previously on the system before you installed avast ? there are many removal tools supplied here http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/ to eliminate remnants of old Anti-viruses.

Once you have removed all remnants of old AV's please try repairing your avast installation via Programs and Features ( click on avast as to uninstall and when you recieve the popup screen choose repair ) reboot when completed.

Please post back with the results.

Offline Zoe000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2012, 06:34:28 PM »
mikaelrask, craigb

Thank you guys so much for responding,

I looked at my programs list to see if any of them matched the ones on the link you sent me, and none did.
SO I began to sweat, thought this was going to be difficult to do, I have already spent a couple days banging my head on the desk!

Tried to uninstall/repair, and whaddya know, it worked! SO EASY!!

Thank you very very much. I will definitely come back here and pick your brain next time I slip into techno-spaz mode.
Have a Tip-Top Sunday, and thank you again!
Zoe.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11112
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Cant start Firewall - Techno eejit here, please help..
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2012, 06:44:15 PM »
Your welcome, glad it's all working for you :)

If your happy that the problem is now solved you can go to your first post and click modify and add "resolved " to the topic title.

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 06:52:07 PM by craigb »