Author Topic: What happened to Avast Web Rep?  (Read 40297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« on: October 11, 2012, 06:53:02 AM »
SiteAdvisor is working, WOT is working but all of a sudden, Avast Web Rep isn't working in any of my browsers. I'm in Chrome right now and the Web Rep icon is lit up green in the title bar and looks like it's working; it is enabled on the extension page. But when I do a search it is not working.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9041
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 07:01:57 AM »
Same here for me using the beta 1469, no search icons for webrep.

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 07:10:12 AM »
I am using 1466.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30515
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 07:12:50 AM »
It works here.
XP SP3 - Avast 10.2.2215 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [OD] - Firefox ESR 31.5.3 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP/SVC] - Thunderbird 31.5.0 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos):
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2012, 07:16:03 AM »
I just tried it again to make sure, and it is not working. It was previously, but no longer. And the strangest part is that the icon is lit up, not grayed out or anything. By all appearances it should be working.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30515
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2012, 08:12:39 AM »
Same here for me using the beta 1469, no search icons for webrep.

Confirmed for the beta.
XP SP3 - Avast 10.2.2215 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [OD] - Firefox ESR 31.5.3 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP/SVC] - Thunderbird 31.5.0 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos):
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Klinker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2012, 04:18:09 PM »
Same problem......on XP SP3  running AIS .1466  with 121011-0 update using latest Chrome, Web Rep appears green on browser, but NOT on search results like others reported above. At least for me, problem showed up with the latest def update this morning. All the correct boxes for Web Rep are turned on in Avast and Chrome and unchecking/rechecking boxes didn't solve issue.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1256
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2012, 04:28:10 PM »
Webrep is working fine here. 7.0.1466 on both Chrome and IE9.
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit • Avast Internet Security 2015 • MBAM Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71431
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2012, 04:36:58 PM »
No problem on my XP Pro system with the beta build 7.0.1469 for me with firefox 16.0 for Yahoo or Google searches.

Just checked my win7 netbook with avast 7.0.1466 with firefox 16.0 and strangely it doesn't work there, some inconsistency here (as in others also reporting its working and others not working.)
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2215 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0.4, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30515
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2012, 04:50:32 PM »
No problem on my XP Pro system with the beta build 7.0.1469 for me with firefox 16.0 for Yahoo or Google searches.

Just checked my win7 netbook with avast 7.0.1466 with firefox 16.0 and strangely it doesn't work there, some inconsistency here (as in others also reporting its working and others not working.)

Quite strange... ???
XP SP3 - Avast 10.2.2215 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [OD] - Firefox ESR 31.5.3 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP/SVC] - Thunderbird 31.5.0 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos):
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30515
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2012, 05:31:05 PM »
Same here for me using the beta 1469, no search icons for webrep.

Confirmed for the beta.

Meanwhile it also works with the beta. :)
XP SP3 - Avast 10.2.2215 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [OD] - Firefox ESR 31.5.3 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP/SVC] - Thunderbird 31.5.0 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos):
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26921
  • 55 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2012, 05:53:13 PM »
Same here for me using the beta 1469, no search icons for webrep.

Confirmed for the beta.

Meanwhile it also works with the beta. :)
Not working for me in the latest beta
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2015.10.0.2208 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1356
  • Firefox User
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2012, 06:15:47 PM »
Mine is working on IE9 and Opera but not on Firefox.

Offline selen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2012, 08:12:53 PM »
same problem here, webrep works fine on IE8, but not on chrome 22.0.1229.94

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
Re: What happened to Avast Web Rep?
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2012, 09:32:41 PM »
I just checked Chrome, IE, Firefox and Pale Moon. Avast Web Rep does not work in any of them.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro