Author Topic: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473  (Read 161559 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #45 on: October 24, 2012, 07:19:42 AM »
uninstall in safe mode using the avast cleaner and then do a clean install...

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76041
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #46 on: October 24, 2012, 07:37:03 AM »
Updated from the RC.
WR isn't working anymore. (Note: It worked before the update with the RC..!!)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 921
  • Product manager of Avast Security for Windows
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #47 on: October 24, 2012, 09:32:49 AM »
Just updated to this version - not sure what I was on, but I assume it was the latest production version before this - and I have to disable network and/or web shields to get things to work. Browser (chrome, altho firefox was OK) don't work, email (thunderbird) does not work, Jungledisk (cloud drive) does not work ...

I submitted a ticket about Chrome not working, because I thought that was a re-occurence of a Chrome/Avast incompat - but then saw that Jungledisk and thunderbird have problems. Not sure where to go from here... Running with all shields off at the moment so I can get some work done.

Dan

Dan, could you check with shield is causing the trouble with your connection to internet? Just turn it off one by one. What avast product are you using? Free /Pro / IS ?
thank you
Quality is also a feature.

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 921
  • Product manager of Avast Security for Windows
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #48 on: October 24, 2012, 09:36:05 AM »
Updated from the RC.
WR isn't working anymore. (Note: It worked before the update with the RC..!!)

Are you talking generally about webrep ratings ?  (it could be server side problem - but it works for me now) or about the problem with webrep in FF (yes, there are issues with FF and webrep - sorry for inconvenience).
Quality is also a feature.

Offline g3b

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #49 on: October 24, 2012, 10:14:29 AM »
Also updated through the GUI, seemed to work alright however on reboot the network lost access & then booted into safe mode and uninstalled avast.  Will try a clean install tomorrow.

Windows 7 sp1 64, amd athlonII 2.90, 8gb ram & 1 TB hd.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 06:43:39 AM by g3b »

kos1606

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #50 on: October 24, 2012, 10:56:36 AM »
Not so lucky here. As soon as I updated the program my Windows 7 64-bit locked up & refused to function. Would not reboot either. Booted to safe mode, removed Avast, then reinstalled. System locked up again. Removed Avast once again and all is well. Not going to reinstall.

Hello Avast-Team,Forum

1 hour ago i updated my avast via the GUI to the newest version, after that i restartet my pc like avast told me to
after the restart my PC boots with no problems BUT 5seconds~ after im on the desktop my PC just freezes and i cant do anything (everytime i restart)
now i made a system recovery and my avast version is the oldest (7.0.1466) and everything works without any problems.

what can i do ? please help

Same problem here.Tried a clean install but didn't work either.I installed 7.0.1466 free version that worked perfect for me until this is fixed.

Windows 7 Home premium 64bit
Malwarebytes Pro
Comodo Firewall
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 08:42:42 PM by kos1606 »

happysurf

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #51 on: October 24, 2012, 12:49:19 PM »
Today, on my XP I have update to 1473 from Avast UI and all seems OK except for the Script module that show 0/0 for scan and infected files counting.  :o

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88131
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #52 on: October 24, 2012, 01:28:08 PM »
Today, on my XP I have update to 1473 from Avast UI and all seems OK except for the Script module that show 0/0 for scan and infected files counting.  :o

Have you rebooted since the update (it is a requirement) as the script shield is working on my XP Pro system, with firefox 16.0.1 (also works with IE8) as the default browser. Whilst my numbers are low, having just booted and aside from being on the avast forums (some sections of which I exclude from the script shield) and just a few other sites.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

drummerman

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #53 on: October 24, 2012, 02:28:28 PM »
Uninstalled old version via aswclear, downloaded the latest one, no problems as far as I can determine.

Thanks

regards

nigel mansel

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #54 on: October 24, 2012, 02:47:13 PM »
After update web rep is greyed out.

Was ok  before,using firefox 16.1

disPlay

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #55 on: October 24, 2012, 02:51:10 PM »
Installation went very smooth.

Congratulations to the developers for this build.

iroc9555

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #56 on: October 24, 2012, 03:14:26 PM »
Upgraded from 1466 to 1473 through Avast! UI updater. Everything went smoothly  :D no hassle. NO Web Rep in FF, all grey out  >:( though.

Thanks Avast!  ;)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 07:36:04 PM by iroc9555 »

MrDobalina

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #57 on: October 24, 2012, 03:33:14 PM »
My update didn't go so smooth.
I updated my Avast Pro to the latest version yesterday and did a reboot today (W7 x64). Now after entering my password the screen goes blank, but no taskbar is showing and the mouse pointer is the busy wheel. I went back into safe mode to uninstall, reboot and install again. With the same result.
So I'm currently running without avast protection. Please advise.

Klinker

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #58 on: October 24, 2012, 03:52:15 PM »
It looks like I'm successfully updated but I had a strange issue while doing it from the GUI. It said stage 1/3 initializing please wait and nothing else happened. The progress bar didn't move, no notification of files being downloaded was given, it just stuck on stage one. Then a bar came up saying "warning, reboot required". I rebooted, got the screen that said the update was almost done and it says I have the new version and so far everything seems okay.

That's the first time I've ever had any kind of issue while updating the program from the GUI. It gives me an uneasy feeling wondering whether everything is truly okay.


Identical problem with my XP SP3 AIS system as stated above. Reboot allowed me to access GUI and update successfully.

Hopefully someone will look into this for future updates to make sure this isn't an ongoing problem.

twl845

  • Guest
Re: NEW PROGRAM UPDATE 7.0.1473
« Reply #59 on: October 24, 2012, 03:56:08 PM »
I did the update via the Avast User Interface, and when it completed it asked me to click to re-boot which I did. Upon rebooting the bootup went good to the Welcome screen and the screen went black with the pointer showing, which is normal, but after about 50 seconds the little power light fizzled and just flickered and the boot up failed. I forced a shutdown and tried 3 more times with no success. I then restored to a previous snapshot with Rollback Rx and successfully booted up. Can anyone suggest a solution to make the update succeed where I can re-boot with the new update. I'm using Avast! Pro. Thanks in advance.  :P
After reading a few similar posts I am wondering if this update should be looked at some more and when fixed, be re-released as a 7.0.1473.1. Naturally some folks will have a good update and some won't but I see a few similar bugs in some of the preceding posts that must be caused by the software. I'm going to stay at  .1466 until I think it's safe to try again. This is the first time in the years I've been using Avast that an update didn't fly. It was only a week or two ago that I bought a two year license to Avast! Pro and now it screws up Argh!!