Poll

Still crashing as of 7.0.1474?

No
8 (10.1%)
Yes
71 (89.9%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8  (Read 97801 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #90 on: November 08, 2012, 04:06:19 PM »
I am sorry about the unrelated dumb. It was the latest intel driver crashing.

I patched the driver from here http://public.avast.com/~rypacek/patches/  and I unzipped it to \Windows\System32

About the dates. I just checked it :

aswnet.sys - Created November 4, Modified October 29, Accessed November 4

Was disabling the self protection module necessary? Dang it! I think I might not have done that. Sorry but somehow I never had crashes, just one.

I had this crash while I was testing some vpns namely Cyberghost and Hotspot Shield and playing some videos in the background in Firefox
« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 04:11:47 PM by Chris Thomas »

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #91 on: November 08, 2012, 04:13:55 PM »
You definitely uploaded crashes with an old driver. Still wondering if this might be an avast fault (such as reverting your patch back - though it shouldn't be doing that) or you somehow failed to apply it correctly.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #92 on: November 08, 2012, 04:20:00 PM »
You definitely uploaded crashes with an old driver. Still wondering if this might be an avast fault (such as reverting your patch back - though it shouldn't be doing that) or you somehow failed to apply it correctly.

I will try it again and let you know if there is any crash.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #93 on: November 08, 2012, 04:23:41 PM »
We are preparing some automated update tool, that should help fixing this problem, until a full program update is released.


L.

sekerob

  • Guest
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #94 on: November 08, 2012, 06:40:35 PM »
Had .1474 program version since installing clean W8-64 Pro on Oct. 26 and these BSOD's, mostly when logging back in after a screen lock or return from hibernation. Certainly networking seemed unstable, needing to frequently disconnect the WIFI and reconnect to get the web going again, loosing shared resources on the WLAN. After applying the patch following the instructions, system stable and dozen locks, log-in, hibernates and things remain running. The Intertubes operate spiffy again.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #95 on: November 09, 2012, 05:38:33 PM »
Thanks for the report, Sekerob.

yongkt

  • Guest
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #96 on: November 12, 2012, 06:00:04 AM »
Have been crashing after I installed windows 8 with avast, after the help from here. It did not crash for 24 hours already. I'll see if it crashes again, I'll post here. Thanks !

sekerob

  • Guest
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #97 on: November 14, 2012, 09:56:02 AM »
After the PTF having held the PC stable since application, sadly, after the [Massive] patch Tuesday application, nearly 200MB greater than for my W7 system [prior all uptodate], the exact same BSOD screen appeared naming aswnet.sys on W8-64 Pro. Network instability has returned.

What to do?

A) Reapply the patch [why would that work if Avast is the issuer of the aswnet.sys file?]
B) Wait for Avast to issue a new .14xx release?

Patiently waiting, as the system just does LAN file serving and distributed volunteer computing [www.wcgrid.org]

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #98 on: November 14, 2012, 12:21:42 PM »
No problems so far and the dates on the file shows that the patch is applied correctly as well :)

Offline Tonanet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • I'm a llama!
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #99 on: November 14, 2012, 12:40:03 PM »
After that I applied the patch, I believe a week ago, I didnt had a single BSOD on windows 8... Running very well!

Elminster

Offline OsFly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #100 on: November 16, 2012, 12:31:07 AM »
Corrected my mistake, moved to a new topic. Windows 8 - aswnSnx.sys - BSOD crash
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=109693.0
« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 09:31:16 PM by OsFly »
WIndows7 pro 64bit. EN     previous: Windows 8 Pro EN 64bit upgrade version (clean installed on empty disk) but windows 8 is terrible.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #101 on: November 16, 2012, 12:02:14 PM »
OsFly, thanks, please upload the dump file - but I don't see how this is related to the thread topic! Thanks.

Offline OsFly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #102 on: November 16, 2012, 04:34:05 PM »
Uhhmm, my fault  ???
I where in the idea that this windows8 problem thread..
And i have uploaded the dumpfile last night.

Maby admin can move this error it to new or correct thread ?
WIndows7 pro 64bit. EN     previous: Windows 8 Pro EN 64bit upgrade version (clean installed on empty disk) but windows 8 is terrible.

bradleybro28

  • Guest
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #103 on: November 16, 2012, 05:30:15 PM »
Which patch should I use? I have windows 8 64 bit pro. Do I need to use 32 or 64?

Offline SugarD-x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Proud Avast! User
    • Clan Xperience
Re: ASWnet.sys BSOD windows 8
« Reply #104 on: November 16, 2012, 05:34:17 PM »
Which patch should I use? I have windows 8 64 bit pro. Do I need to use 32 or 64?
Use the 64-bit one. :)
~SugarD-x~