Author Topic: Avast freezes my computers!!!  (Read 3434 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 101010101010101 0101010101

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • The SHOT technique that killed Osama Bin laden!!
Avast freezes my computers!!!
« on: October 30, 2012, 12:45:04 AM »
I installed the newest avast on two of my computers and two of my friends computers and they all booted up and then stalled on windows and then just sits there and stalls out, all pc's were win 7 64 bit.

after doing many combinations of clean install / removal I have had to temporary switch to avg 2013 until this known issue is resolved!! HOPEFULLY SOON ;)

After booting into safe mode I used the avast uninstall utility and rebooted and installed AVG.
Hp Pavilion ( p7-1233wb ) AMD A8-5500 Quad Core 3.2Ghz - turbo 3.7Ghz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64 bit , Avast Premier, Malwarebytes pro, 150Mb Download Internet Speed.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71072
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.6.6435.IBC [UI.653] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.12 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.12
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.1 - Cleanup 21.2 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.2 - CCleaner 5.83
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline 101010101010101 0101010101

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • The SHOT technique that killed Osama Bin laden!!
Re: Avast freezes my computers!!!
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2012, 06:29:44 PM »
-> http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&p=417798&#entry417798

This is of NO help considering malwarebytes was not even on two of the computers!! But thanks for trying!! 
Hp Pavilion ( p7-1233wb ) AMD A8-5500 Quad Core 3.2Ghz - turbo 3.7Ghz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64 bit , Avast Premier, Malwarebytes pro, 150Mb Download Internet Speed.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71072
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast freezes my computers!!!
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2012, 06:34:33 PM »
This is of NO help considering malwarebytes was not even on two of the computers!! But thanks for trying!!

Well, I took this info from your sig. ;)

Please provide some info:
- Which avast!..?? (Free/Pro/IS)
- Which version..??
- OS..?? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP..?)
- Other security related software installed..??
- Which AV did you use before avast!..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.6.6435.IBC [UI.653] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.12 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.12
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.1 - Cleanup 21.2 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.2 - CCleaner 5.83
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline 101010101010101 0101010101

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • The SHOT technique that killed Osama Bin laden!!
Re: Avast freezes my computers!!!
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2012, 06:37:36 PM »
This is of NO help considering malwarebytes was not even on two of the computers!! But thanks for trying!!

Well, I took this info from your sig. ;)

Please provide some info:
- Which avast!..?? (Free/Pro/IS)
- Which version..??
- OS..?? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP..?)
- Other security related software installed..??
- Which AV did you use before avast!..??

Already had exclusions set on MY two computers. ;)
Hp Pavilion ( p7-1233wb ) AMD A8-5500 Quad Core 3.2Ghz - turbo 3.7Ghz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64 bit , Avast Premier, Malwarebytes pro, 150Mb Download Internet Speed.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11124
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast freezes my computers!!!
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2012, 06:38:15 PM »
-> http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&p=417798&#entry417798

This is of NO help considering malwarebytes was not even on two of the computers!! But thanks for trying!!
Well you haven't been much help with the information supplied as we only have details of one system in your signiture.

The MBAM exclusions also only work for Pro versions of MBAM, there are five exe.files in the MBAM program folder that should be included in the BhS trusted processes if you dont have them already.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71072
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast freezes my computers!!!
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2012, 06:38:56 PM »
Already had exclusions set on MY two computers. ;)

Great.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.6.6435.IBC [UI.653] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.12 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.12
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 91.1 - Cleanup 21.2 - SecureLine 5.12 - Driver Updater 21.2 - CCleaner 5.83
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0