Author Topic: e-mail problems please help  (Read 5719 times)

Ali B

e-mail problems please help
« on: January 06, 2005, 05:01:40 AM »
I know you have heard it all before,but,I only downloaded "Avast" last night and I still can not work out how to get my internet e-mail to send and receive. I have two e-mail accounts. Only one of them is not working. My "Hotmail" account is alright.

I have read as much as I can from this forum and the help files and I still can not work it out. Well don't laugh I only started playing with a computer six months ago.

If I turn off the scanning for incoming and outgoing mail, then it works so it is being blocked by "Avast".

I have recently upgraded to Windows xp version 2002. I am collecting my mail in "Outlook Express 6". I am running "Avast 4.5" and "Zone Alarm". I was using "Norton" before I un-installed it and switched to "Avast".

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: e-mail problems please help
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2005, 11:46:57 AM »
Welcome  :D

If I turn off the scanning for incoming and outgoing mail, then it works so it is being blocked by "Avast".
I have recently upgraded to Windows xp version 2002. I am collecting my mail in "Outlook Express 6". I am running "Avast 4.5" and "Zone Alarm". I was using "Norton" before I un-installed it and switched to "Avast".

Are you sure that ZoneAlarm allows ashMaiSv.exe (avast mail service) to connect the Internet?
Can you disable the firewall and test if it works?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2005, 02:51:13 PM »
- Make sure that NAV is correctly/completely remove. Use the uninstall util from the Symantec website.
- Reboot
- Do a repiar of Avast
- Reboot
- Setup the mail in OE as if Avast isn't there

Does this solved the problem?

Ali B

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2005, 01:56:49 AM »