Author Topic: Help please!  (Read 77709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #30 on: November 05, 2012, 10:43:44 PM »
Hi,

Nothing on this computer is easy!!  Anyway not sure if this is what you mean but I went into Security Center and started Windows Firewall which then would not allow me to do anything on the internet, connection timed out etc.  So I rebooted and then restarted firewall again and this time it worked.  So windows firewall is running.  I disabled it when I downloaded Outpost so that only one firewall was running.  Anyway for now I have suspended Outpost protection.  The fixit said that the Remote Assistance wasn't working so I said to fix that and that was all from that repair.

Results of log after windows firewall started:

Farbar Service Scanner Version: 04-11-2012
Ran by Janice (administrator) on 05-11-2012 at 15:34:55
Running from "C:\Users\Janice\Desktop"
Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium  Service Pack 2 (X86)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============

Connection Status:
==============
Localhost is accessible.
LAN connected.
WAN connected
Google IP is accessible.
Google.com is accessible.
Yahoo IP is accessible.
Yahoo.com is accessible.


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Security Center:
============

Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Windows Defender:
==============

Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\system32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\tcpip.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\cryptsvc.dll
[2012-10-14 11:37] - [2012-06-01 18:02] - 0133120 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) F1E8C34892336D33EDDCDFE44E474F64

C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\ipnathlp.dll
[2008-06-17 10:54] - [2008-01-19 01:34] - 0288256 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) E1499BD0FF76B1B2FBBF1AF339D91165

C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****



I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #31 on: November 05, 2012, 11:52:48 PM »
Could you now retry the Avast firewall as all services are reporting good, remember Avast needs windows firewall on
« Last Edit: November 06, 2012, 12:00:02 AM by essexboy »

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2012, 12:27:37 AM »
Yup I did try it, I actually got the network block, but it also crashed while downloading, and I still had the same problem with the firewall.  I'm about to give up again as I have wasted so much time on this.  I have uninstalled avast again and will try try to install again.  How can it be installed when the computer crashes before I get the setup has finished window.

Also everytime I have to reboot windows firewall is turned off and I have to turn it on again!  Totally frustrated at this point.

Cheers,
Janice
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #33 on: November 06, 2012, 04:07:50 PM »
OK lets give the system a full repair sweep

This is not a magic tool but it does reset a lot of problematic areas within the computer

Download  Windows Repair (all in one)  from this site

Install the programme then run



Go to step 3 and allow it to run SFC



On the start repairs tab click start


Select the following  items and tick restart system when finished


Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2012, 04:30:47 PM »
Hmmm, I may have screwed up here!  I did a system restore this morning (had some of these problems at that time as well)  Anyway I had installed, uninstalle Avast so many times that I couldn't use Avast anymore, my browsers were timing out, couldn't use Thunderbird, couldn't connect to the net hence system restore.  So I am running repair now or should I restore back to this morning and then do what you suggest.  I'm just about nuts now, lol!

Cheers,
Janice
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #35 on: November 06, 2012, 04:37:39 PM »
I'm at the start repairs but will wait to hear from you before proceeding in case I should restore my system back to this morning which is the premise you were working on.  Hope this makes sense.

I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #36 on: November 06, 2012, 04:39:37 PM »
No run it as it is now I feel

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #37 on: November 06, 2012, 05:56:56 PM »
Hi,

Finished running Tweaking.com.  Computer seems a little faster, it had slowed to a crawl!  Do you need the log, or anything else I should be doing?

Cheers,
Janice
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #38 on: November 06, 2012, 07:18:40 PM »
No you may keep the log  ;D It will contain data on SFC file scan and any registry changes that it made

I am now going to suggest that you try the firewall yet again... 

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #39 on: November 06, 2012, 07:36:46 PM »
Well I am a little hesitant to try, so far I can run my browser protection.  Is there a way I can install the firewall without uninstalling Avast or do I have to uninstall and then reinstall with the firewall.  I will try it.

Cheers,
Janice
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #40 on: November 06, 2012, 07:41:14 PM »
You could run the repair element and as you have the AIS license it should then install it


Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #41 on: November 06, 2012, 08:07:48 PM »
Okay here's the story, I went in and clicked on change and did a custom install that included the firewall.  But same old, same old, now this go round though I cannot connect to my homepage but when I click on my bookmark toolbar I can come to this site!  I went back to change Avast to take out the Firewall but Avast can't do this as it can't connect to the servers.  So now I have to uninstall and reinstall without the firewall.  Unless you have another tool or trick I guess I'm just going to forget about the Avast firewall and install Outpost instead.  But to get to this site I had to disable Avast.
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Help please!
« Reply #42 on: November 06, 2012, 08:48:45 PM »
I must admit I am running out of ideas on this one

Offline nanajana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Health is Wealth
Re: Help please!
« Reply #43 on: November 07, 2012, 06:40:41 AM »
Hi,

Well I guess that means we are done.  Thanks sooo much for all your help!! :) 

Cheers,
Janice
I love this forum, with all its extremely knowledgeable personnel!

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5712
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Help please!
« Reply #44 on: November 07, 2012, 09:50:53 AM »
Hi,

Really think now is the time to back up all your personal files, just so you know you are safe.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 22H2 Microsoft Windows Defender - Windows 11 Home 23H2 - Windows 11 Pro 23H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI version 1.0.803