Author Topic: Avast is BUSTED- Kills my macbook every time  (Read 4459 times)

avast_user22

Avast is BUSTED- Kills my macbook every time
« on: November 17, 2012, 05:27:18 PM »
This started a few months ago, when I started playing Diablo III.
Every now and then (approx. 15 minutes) in multiplayer and once in a week (single player) my game would FREEZE, for like 10 seconds (not responding) and then usually goes back to normal / I have to restart.

Now, I have no "heavy softwares" running on my mac while playing, and I always assumed it was a bug in Diablo III for Mac or maybe it was a GPU fault.
Guess what? A week ago I decided to use my iStat 3 to see if anything consumes CPU/Memory which leads to this problem, and by surprise, I saw com.Avast.MacAvast.Mad taking 100% CPU, killing everything including my game resources.

I dont know why it's usually occuring in multiplayer while i play with 3-4 players, but not in single.
When the game freeze i can go to my system and 100% of the time the com.Avast.MacAvast.Mad will be num.1 consumer in iStat- 100% CPU, after 10 seconds disaapear (goes back to normal CPU) and then what? Diablo III works again.

So, I don't want to say anything bad about avast because its a free product, and Avast for windows is doing a great job, but WTF..
Please give me an answer / something I know that can help in this situation, because although im not paying at the moment, I would want to pay for avast when it goes retail, but if this is the true face of avast for Mac i would just uninstall this and go to sophos.

note: this problem is almost since the game came out (may, 2012), I just always blamed my GPU/Diablo III.
I even thought about buying a new mac with better GPU just to make it stop freezing, tho my GPU can handle diablo III ok while in low specs.

Yours, very disappointed, avast user.

EDIT: Seems to get to 100% even when mac is resting (in desktop without any games/softwares running).