Author Topic: Incorrect Forum Display  (Read 10968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47252
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Incorrect Forum Display
« on: November 19, 2012, 02:22:52 PM »
I'm getting an increasing amount of notifications that when opened display the following:




I'm using my laptop not my Smart Phone or tablet ???
What's happening ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11160
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 02:40:35 PM »
I get that page loading text problem now and again and a page refresh usually fixes it for me, it's never consistent though and it only happens once a week or so for me, maybe it's related to the slow forum responses we've been receiving ???

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76213
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 02:51:37 PM »
Never seen that, but it could help to use http instead of https... ;)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3357
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 03:00:47 PM »
Never seen that, but it could help to use http instead of https... ;)

+1 ;)
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v22.6.6025 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86805
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2012, 03:17:39 PM »
I'm getting an increasing amount of notifications that when opened display the following:

<snip image>

I'm using my laptop not my Smart Phone or tablet ???
What's happening ???

Never seen that, but it could help to use http instead of https... ;)

I have never seen that either, it may well be down to the https and the issue of mixed content.

@ Bob
Have you changed any settings in your laptop's browser relating to mixed content ?
Most browsers can be set to only display the secure content, so I don't know if A) this would have this impact or B) if you have actually applied that setting.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47252
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2012, 03:20:04 PM »
My browser settings haven't changed in months.
This has been happening for the past week.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86805
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2012, 03:34:06 PM »
Has it always been related to https URLs in the forums ?
What happens if you do a hard page refresh or if that doesn't work changing the url to http ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47252
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2012, 03:35:20 PM »
Has it always been related to https URLs in the forums ?
What happens if you do a hard page refresh or if that doesn't work changing the url to http ?
Haven't tried that. These are notifications generated by the forum of a new post.

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

iroc9555

  • Guest
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2012, 03:36:24 PM »
I have also had them running IE 8. Not with FF though. Like Craigb said refresh page will fix it.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2012, 03:37:08 PM »
I have noticed that on HTTPS links only

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47252
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2012, 03:38:50 PM »
Has it always been related to https URLs in the forums ?
What happens if you do a hard page refresh or if that doesn't work changing the url to http ?
Haven't tried that. These are notifications generated by the forum of a new post.
Changing the link to HTTP fixes the problem.
Something the forum should do automatically in their notifications or, fix the problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86805
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2012, 04:04:41 PM »
Has it always been related to https URLs in the forums ?
What happens if you do a hard page refresh or if that doesn't work changing the url to http ?
Haven't tried that. These are notifications generated by the forum of a new post.
Changing the link to HTTP fixes the problem.
Something the forum should do automatically in their notifications or, fix the problem.

I though it might resolve it, we have certainly seen this https URL in notification before. There doesn't appear to be any consistency in this either as not all notification links are https. I don't know if a user happens to be using something like https always (don't know the proper name) it forces the topic to be https. So my guess is that the notification would also use https in the notification link.

Essentially the forum notification email software needs always use http, but I don't know if there is that degree of configuration in the SMF forum software.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2012, 03:05:58 AM »
I use only the regular HTTP addy, but have on rare occasions seen more or less the same here in Firefox ... usually, but not always, a page reload clears it up, particularly if I clear the cache first.

One other possibility occurred to me, at least in my own case ... my graphics controller is an antique Intel 82845-series onboard chipset, for which updated drivers haven't been available in ages, and it has problems with one game in which it'll occasionally lock up and eventually give me an error message that a DLL driver for it failed to operate, and the whole system then drops back to 4-bit 640x480.  Everything's good as new if I reboot ... I've never run into that problem in any other context, so I assume the game's trying to call a function that the controller never heard of and there's nothing wrong with the controller itself (or its drivers), and probably totally unrelated to the forum display thing some of us are occasionally seeing.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline SugarD-x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Proud Avast! User
    • Clan Xperience
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2012, 06:25:26 PM »
Seems I waited too long to post the other topic!

For whomever is an administrator, if the forum can be set up to support https:// mode, then it should solve half the problem. From there it's just a matter of resolving the notifications email issue, which should either display one or the other...and preferably https:// because of the added security it provides, even if it's not very secure in this form.
~SugarD-x~

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86805
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Incorrect Forum Display
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2012, 06:47:48 PM »
Far from providing added security, it doesn't, it just encrypts the traffic. I would say that it is worse to have it on https as the web shield doesn't scan https content. So you effectively lose the protection of the web shield, whilst that may not necessarily be an issue on the forums, but web sites aren't immune from being hacked.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security