Author Topic: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit  (Read 6368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

eddydc

  • Guest
Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« on: November 25, 2012, 12:20:25 PM »
Hi,

Despite I'm running  Windows8 pro 64 bit, when I look at the task manager, avast seems to run as 32 bit. Reinstalling Avast doesn't make any difference. How can I make Avast run as 64 bit?

Cheers

Eddy

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89353
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2012, 12:58:07 PM »
The parts of avast that require to be 64bit, drivers, etc. are.

There are many such topics where the developers have stated that there is no real advantage in having a completely 64bit version of avast.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

user_1000

  • Guest
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2012, 12:58:46 PM »
Avast is just a 32 bit program. There is no a native x64 version of Avast.

user_1000

  • Guest
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2012, 01:04:04 PM »
(snip)
There are many such topics where the developers have stated that there is no real advantage in having a completely 64bit version of avast.

By the way, even Microsoft Notepad has a native x64 version. ;) :D

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89353
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2012, 01:15:21 PM »
But what has that got to do with this topic.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

user_1000

  • Guest
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2012, 01:22:10 PM »
But what has that got to do with this topic.

I was just saying. Even a negligible software has a native x64 version. Many things can be justified by saying "There is no real advantage of..." ;)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2012, 02:07:48 PM »
Because Notepad or Calc aren't even virtually as complex as avast!. And since it's a part of the OS, they basically compile it together with the rest of the Windows core logic. avast! on the other hand has been built on 32bit code. In theory, they could make it native 64 but would require a lot of work. the question here is, is it worth it? And the answer is, it's not worth it since you wouldn't really gain anything particularly measurable. But the parts that do mattter, the scan engine, drivers, core logics, that works on both, 32bit and 64bit levels.

Eventually, when 64bit completelly replaces 32bit (like it happened in teh past when 32bit replaced all of the 16bit code in Windows Vista 64bit and above), then avast! willa lso get a nudge to a full 64bit.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

eddydc

  • Guest
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2012, 03:32:53 PM »
Since a AV software is heavy on a system, I would say it would benefit from being also 64 bit if the OS was 64 bit.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37619
  • Not a avast user
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2012, 03:44:43 PM »
i think igor have explained why not in detail several times........ or was it lukor ?

if anyone know the link to that topic ?................. post it here   ;)
« Last Edit: November 25, 2012, 03:49:43 PM by Pondus »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89353
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2012, 03:48:14 PM »
Well I have to believe what the avast system developers say on the benefits or lack of them in avast having a native 64bit version. When all of the crucial elements are 64bit anyway.

I don't know where you are getting the "Since a AV software is heavy on a system" from as avast is relatively light on my systems.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11865
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2012, 12:15:43 PM »
Since a AV software is heavy on a system, I would say it would benefit from being also 64 bit if the OS was 64 bit.

Well, "would say" doesn't mean it really would... do you have any technical reasons to think there would be any measurable difference?
You know, 64 bit executables are bigger, use more memory, and (as far as I can say) some compilers might not even provide the same level of optimization of the 64bit generated code than they do for 32bit... so in the end, the result may actually be slower (or more resource consuming) than the 32bit version.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast runs as 32bit under Windows8 pro 64 bit
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2012, 12:28:40 PM »
Besides by far the biggest bottleneck are HDD's themself. AV engine can throughput 1GB/s but casual HDD can only do 150MB/s sequential at best. SSD's are a bit better at 500MB/s and beyond but they are quite expensive and not big enough compared to HDD's.
So until 1GB/s SSD's become very mainstream, i don't think it's worth bothering further.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog