Author Topic: Where to place the vps update file in Mac OS X Lion?  (Read 2952 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline harihb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Where to place the vps update file in Mac OS X Lion?
« on: December 18, 2012, 07:11:26 AM »
Hello,

I have downloaded the 400.vps and 400vps.md5 files for Mac OS X. I don't know where to paste these files so that avast virus scanner for Mac can recognize the updated virus definitions.

Cheers,
Hariharan

Offline zilog

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 957
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
Re: Where to place the vps update file in Mac OS X Lion?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2012, 12:40:15 PM »
Hello,

I have downloaded the 400.vps and 400vps.md5 files for Mac OS X. I don't know where to paste these files so that avast virus scanner for Mac can recognize the updated virus definitions.

Cheers,
Hariharan

Hallo, those files aren't used anymore for 10+ months - instead, new virus definitions come as a bundle (which contains many different files).
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)

Offline harihb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Where to place the vps update file in Mac OS X Lion?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2012, 05:36:55 AM »
Oh? Is there any other way to update the antivirus via proxy then? I tried this method in the post here
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=36008.msg866006#msg866006

I gave the following command

sudo launchctl setenv http_proxy http://user:pass@xxxxxx:3128

and then tried updating. It doesn't work :(

Offline zilog

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 957
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
Re: Where to place the vps update file in Mac OS X Lion?
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2012, 01:51:41 AM »
Oh? Is there any other way to update the antivirus via proxy then? I tried this method in the post here
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=36008.msg866006#msg866006

I gave the following command

sudo launchctl setenv http_proxy http://user:pass@xxxxxx:3128

and then tried updating. It doesn't work :(

Hallo, are you sure the option was set? Did you verify it via getenv?

regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)