Author Topic: Beta  (Read 56598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #120 on: February 18, 2013, 07:36:11 PM »
I renamed the Hosts file created a duplicate then added line 173.194.67.109  imap.gmail.com saved, but the problem still is there. I replaced the original hosts file. Unless I was doing something wrong with the IP I added. Or should I have added the IP to my good NS1

You probably need flush your resolution cache, you can do this via terminal.app:

Code: [Select]
sudo dscacheutil -flushcache
Your hosts file should look something like this now(all the entries related to localhost and broadcasthost should be left as they are originally, the values might me slightly different from yours there):
Code: [Select]
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1       localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1     localhost
xxxx::1%lo0     localhost

173.194.66.109  imap.gmail.com

I will try that.

No luck it didn't work after sleep.

*shrug*
Then revert back to the original hosts, there's nothing else I can suggest.

Offline joelw135

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Beta
« Reply #121 on: February 18, 2013, 07:39:05 PM »
I renamed the Hosts file created a duplicate then added line 173.194.67.109  imap.gmail.com saved, but the problem still is there. I replaced the original hosts file. Unless I was doing something wrong with the IP I added. Or should I have added the IP to my good NS1

You probably need flush your resolution cache, you can do this via terminal.app:

Code: [Select]
sudo dscacheutil -flushcache
Your hosts file should look something like this now(all the entries related to localhost and broadcasthost should be left as they are originally, the values might me slightly different from yours there):
Code: [Select]
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1       localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1     localhost
xxxx::1%lo0     localhost

173.194.66.109  imap.gmail.com

I will try that.

No luck it didn't work after sleep.

*shrug*
Then revert back to the original hosts, there's nothing else I can suggest.

What I did for now is set the Sleep to none, but put the hard drive to sleep when able and the monitors. I I could make a script to run after a Thunderbird restart that would be great.

Offline joelw135

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Beta
« Reply #122 on: February 18, 2013, 08:15:08 PM »
I renamed the Hosts file created a duplicate then added line 173.194.67.109  imap.gmail.com saved, but the problem still is there. I replaced the original hosts file. Unless I was doing something wrong with the IP I added. Or should I have added the IP to my good NS1

You probably need flush your resolution cache, you can do this via terminal.app:

Code: [Select]
sudo dscacheutil -flushcache
Your hosts file should look something like this now(all the entries related to localhost and broadcasthost should be left as they are originally, the values might me slightly different from yours there):
Code: [Select]
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1       localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1     localhost
xxxx::1%lo0     localhost

173.194.66.109  imap.gmail.com

I will try that.

No luck it didn't work after sleep.

*shrug*
Then revert back to the original hosts, there's nothing else I can suggest.

What I did for now is set the Sleep to none, but put the hard drive to sleep when able and the monitors. I I could make a script to run after a Thunderbird restart that would be great.

I created a workflow, but it didn't work the same as doing it manually.

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #123 on: February 18, 2013, 09:05:09 PM »
I renamed the Hosts file created a duplicate then added line 173.194.67.109  imap.gmail.com saved, but the problem still is there. I replaced the original hosts file. Unless I was doing something wrong with the IP I added. Or should I have added the IP to my good NS1

You probably need flush your resolution cache, you can do this via terminal.app:

Code: [Select]
sudo dscacheutil -flushcache
Your hosts file should look something like this now(all the entries related to localhost and broadcasthost should be left as they are originally, the values might me slightly different from yours there):
Code: [Select]
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1       localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1     localhost
xxxx::1%lo0     localhost

173.194.66.109  imap.gmail.com

I will try that.

No luck it didn't work after sleep.

*shrug*
Then revert back to the original hosts, there's nothing else I can suggest.

What I did for now is set the Sleep to none, but put the hard drive to sleep when able and the monitors. I I could make a script to run after a Thunderbird restart that would be great.

I created a workflow, but it didn't work the same as doing it manually.

I'm sorry to say that eiher manually or automatically won't make any difference, the sleep thing is just a coincidence, I see no reason why sleep would have anything to do with your issue on the long term, the way I see it, it's just coin flipping, nothing more, besides, since the dns cache was cleared you won't be getting the cached results. Don't waste any more time with this until either you have 2 working name servers or tumic has anything to say on the subject, I would like to hear his opinion on the MX thing. I gave a bit more thought to it, and maybe I was wrong, although the name servers problem is an issue, it's an issue that happens when someone tries to send an email to your address as it might not find the gmail server, but when retrieving email via IMAP you are connecting to GMail server directly, so back to square one, I have no idea what's going on over there.

Offline joelw135

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Beta
« Reply #124 on: February 18, 2013, 09:38:23 PM »
I renamed the Hosts file created a duplicate then added line 173.194.67.109  imap.gmail.com saved, but the problem still is there. I replaced the original hosts file. Unless I was doing something wrong with the IP I added. Or should I have added the IP to my good NS1

You probably need flush your resolution cache, you can do this via terminal.app:

Code: [Select]
sudo dscacheutil -flushcache
Your hosts file should look something like this now(all the entries related to localhost and broadcasthost should be left as they are originally, the values might me slightly different from yours there):
Code: [Select]
##
# Host Database
#
# localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
# when the system is booting.  Do not change this entry.
##
127.0.0.1       localhost
255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
::1     localhost
xxxx::1%lo0     localhost

173.194.66.109  imap.gmail.com

I will try that.

No luck it didn't work after sleep.

*shrug*
Then revert back to the original hosts, there's nothing else I can suggest.

What I did for now is set the Sleep to none, but put the hard drive to sleep when able and the monitors. I I could make a script to run after a Thunderbird restart that would be great.

I created a workflow, but it didn't work the same as doing it manually.

I'm sorry to say that eiher manually or automatically won't make any difference, the sleep thing is just a coincidence, I see no reason why sleep would have anything to do with your issue on the long term, the way I see it, it's just coin flipping, nothing more, besides, since the dns cache was cleared you won't be getting the cached results. Don't waste any more time with this until either you have 2 working name servers or tumic has anything to say on the subject, I would like to hear his opinion on the MX thing. I gave a bit more thought to it, and maybe I was wrong, although the name servers problem is an issue, it's an issue that happens when someone tries to send an email to your address as it might not find the gmail server, but when retrieving email via IMAP you are connecting to GMail server directly, so back to square one, I have no idea what's going on over there.

The problem is that Mountain Lion when sleeping drops the Internet connection on both Ethernet and WiFi it is a known documented problem. Most people don't realize it as they don't have GROWL installed and think it is just slow wake up. GROWL shows the loss of IP and network connections, and when awakened it shows reconnection of each.

Offline Fenikkusu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Beta
« Reply #125 on: February 19, 2013, 06:21:20 AM »
Following the first update, I ran the update and found a curious issue. The two accounts that were working no longer were connecting. They both display the error below.

Quote
SSL_accept(): sslv3 alert bad certificate

The worked fine prior to the update and the Scanning of them worked as well. My GMail account however didn't. Following both the first update and the second, all three accounts still fail to connect. If I disable the Shield, all three accounts connect correctly.

It should be worth mentioning that the two non-gmail accounts have certificates I know to be valid. However, they are not registered for the domain under which they are accessed. This could be part of the issue.

Additionally, once I reenabled the shield, my GMail appears to be working correctly know. I will need a refresh to be sure. I do have the hosts fix in place, so this may be playing a role as well.

Offline joelw135

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Beta
« Reply #126 on: February 19, 2013, 02:12:47 PM »
I understand that my NS2 server is down so I only have one NS but there has to be a way for Avast to understand this and ignore it until the server is back up. As it stands I can't get mail unless I disable the mail scan for secure locations. The trick of disabling and enabling the scan is tiresome to say the least.

Offline hansi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Beta
« Reply #127 on: February 22, 2013, 04:21:05 PM »
Hallo,

using the new beta 38330 and i become the following in the Konsole avastfileshield.log:

[4441-note] Fri Feb 22 15:22:55 2013 - Starting File Shield (build Feb 18 2013 10:17:07)
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:22:55 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:23:37 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/tmp.weNQJO' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:24:30 2013 - avscan_handle_read: Lost connection to daemon.
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:24:30 2013 - avscan_handle_read: Lost connection to daemon.
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:28:50 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_DX4t2tj3fdPLjJc' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:28:50 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_yMlY7QpcQz0LDmR' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:28:50 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_QL0tHOU9TsgHH6j' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:29:10 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_JN2qvl9vkGcerhY' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-err] Fri Feb 22 15:29:10 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_z3BvF7jqeaLOPFg' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[4441-note] Fri Feb 22 15:29:14 2013 - Stopping File Shield...
[74-note] Fri Feb 22 15:30:17 2013 - Starting File Shield (build Feb 18 2013 10:17:07)
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:21 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:21 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. No such file or directory [2]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:21 2013 - kext_open: The Kext is not loaded.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:27 2013 - kext_open: The Kext is not loaded.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:27 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. No such file or directory [2]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:36 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:38 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:40 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:42 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:45 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:47 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:49 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:30:49 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-warn] Fri Feb 22 15:30:49 2013 - av_maybe_stuck: Daemon likely stuck. Restart it.
[74-note] Fri Feb 22 15:33:16 2013 - Starting File Shield (build Feb 18 2013 10:17:07)
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:16 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:16 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:16 2013 - kext_open: The Kext is not loaded.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:24 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:30 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:38 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:40 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-warn] Fri Feb 22 15:33:40 2013 - av_maybe_stuck: Daemon likely stuck. Restart it.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:40 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:49 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:51 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:54 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:56 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:33:58 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:34:00 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:34:03 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[74-err] Fri Feb 22 15:34:03 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[74-warn] Fri Feb 22 15:34:03 2013 - av_maybe_stuck: Daemon likely stuck. Restart it.
[81-note] Fri Feb 22 15:40:09 2013 - Starting File Shield (build Feb 18 2013 10:17:07)
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:10 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:10 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:10 2013 - kext_open: The Kext is not loaded.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:16 2013 - kext_open: The Kext is not loaded.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:19 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:22 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:24 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:26 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:28 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:30 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:32 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:32 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[81-warn] Fri Feb 22 15:40:32 2013 - av_maybe_stuck: Daemon likely stuck. Restart it.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:41 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:43 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:45 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:47 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:49 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:52 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:54 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:57 2013 - avmaster_handle_timeout: Timeout avmaster-welcome has occured.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:40:57 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:02 2013 - avmaster_open: connect() failed. Connection refused [61]
[81-warn] Fri Feb 22 15:41:02 2013 - av_maybe_stuck: Daemon likely stuck. Restart it.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:08 2013 - config_load: ini_read() failed [-1]. Will use defaults.
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:42 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/zz/zyxvpxvq6csfxvn_n00000sm00006d/T/etilqs_bxpDHaQYS9jfqa5' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:43 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/zz/zyxvpxvq6csfxvn_n00000sm00006d/T/etilqs_KclzM66DnwoiOhm' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:43 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/zz/zyxvpxvq6csfxvn_n00000sm00006d/T/etilqs_gRYHRzUMxftbebN' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:47 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/zz/zyxvpxvq6csfxvn_n00000sm00006d/T/etilqs_MsOHEQSFWcQWIK8' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:47 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/hm/qj1rwy3d313557sxqvm0sghm0000gn/T/etilqs_2h3kTVTahwuLDSQ' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory
[81-err] Fri Feb 22 15:41:47 2013 - SCAN '/private/var/folders/zz/zyxvpxvq6csfxvn_n00000sm00006d/T/etilqs_oD1GqYXUQzEYp6s' failed: 451 SCAN Engine error 2 No such file or directory

is this OK?????

Regards

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #128 on: February 22, 2013, 06:20:48 PM »
Hallo,

using the new beta 38330 and i become the following in the Konsole avastfileshield.log:
...
is this OK?????

Regards

I wonder if you uninstalled the previous avast version before installing this beta.

Offline hansi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Beta
« Reply #129 on: February 23, 2013, 01:34:48 PM »
Hallo specimen9999,

Yes, I have made ​​the mistake and did not delete the old version and then re-installed. What can I do to correct the mistake?

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #130 on: February 23, 2013, 01:53:23 PM »
It's so obvious it's embarrassing. Uninstall (via the avast menu), re-install.

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #131 on: February 25, 2013, 10:22:35 PM »
I installed 38330, made sure to uninstall Webrep from all browsersas I REALLY don't want this extension on any of my browsers (is it possible for this to be opt-in and not opt-out?), everything was running fine using Chrome, rebooted, launched Chrome, and there I see the Webrep extension!, at the same time avast complains saying "Internal error!" (no, there were no crash logs in User/System Diagnostic Reports in Console.app), Opened up avast! and there it is, Webrep installed in ALL browsers, I don't want Webrep, leave the browsers alone, one uninstall should be enough.

Offline tumic

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 724
Re: Beta
« Reply #132 on: February 26, 2013, 02:51:21 PM »
I installed 38330, made sure to uninstall Webrep from all browsersas I REALLY don't want this extension on any of my browsers (is it possible for this to be opt-in and not opt-out?), everything was running fine using Chrome, rebooted, launched Chrome, and there I see the Webrep extension!, at the same time avast complains saying "Internal error!" (no, there were no crash logs in User/System Diagnostic Reports in Console.app), Opened up avast! and there it is, Webrep installed in ALL browsers, I don't want Webrep, leave the browsers alone, one uninstall should be enough.

If the WebRep plugin was installed even though you have disabled it during install, than it is a bug and it will be fixed, i will check that. The opt-in is a "political" company decision, there is nothing we can do about it.

Offline specimen9999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Beta
« Reply #133 on: February 26, 2013, 03:20:32 PM »
I installed 38330, made sure to uninstall Webrep from all browsersas I REALLY don't want this extension on any of my browsers (is it possible for this to be opt-in and not opt-out?), everything was running fine using Chrome, rebooted, launched Chrome, and there I see the Webrep extension!, at the same time avast complains saying "Internal error!" (no, there were no crash logs in User/System Diagnostic Reports in Console.app), Opened up avast! and there it is, Webrep installed in ALL browsers, I don't want Webrep, leave the browsers alone, one uninstall should be enough.

If the WebRep plugin was installed even though you have disabled it during install, than it is a bug and it will be fixed, i will check that. The opt-in is a "political" company decision, there is nothing we can do about it.

Thank you. I figured there was no possibility of opt-in, I understand "what's in" for avast! if users use Webrep, I'll just make sure I uninstalll it whenever I reinstall avast!.

Offline tumic

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 724
Re: Beta
« Reply #134 on: February 26, 2013, 04:44:04 PM »
Version 38397 is out as the final version, thanks to all who have tested the beta version(s) and reported issues. Although upgrading from a beta version may work, it is highly recommended to uninstall the previous beta version and install 38397 "from  scratch".