Author Topic: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC  (Read 5046 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2423
  • Always Be Kind
Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« on: January 06, 2013, 09:23:23 PM »
Before I download and install this program I would like to know if it could mess up my computer.   :-\

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37147
  • Not a avast user
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 09:41:57 PM »
Quote
Done a System Restore and everything is fine.  Thankfully, this HitmanPro didn't do any damage to my computer. I'm seriously done with testing any new programs.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=111332.msg874880#msg874880


http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=111332.msg874921#msg874921

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2423
  • Always Be Kind
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 09:55:05 PM »
Thanks for your reply.  Won't be downloading the program. 

Offline Charyb-0

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2508
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 09:59:49 PM »
Funny!

Windows update and automatic program update checks work fine for me. I also use Secunia to double check and if I have a program open I will also manually check for updates.

-midnight,
You should invest in a portable drive to store an image and a file backup on. Maybe try Virtual Machine. Or, buy a computer used specifically for testing.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47431
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 10:22:53 PM »
Why a Brand new topic ??? Why would it hurt your system if it's used properly ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2423
  • Always Be Kind
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2013, 12:24:45 AM »
Why a Brand new topic ??? Why would it hurt your system if it's used properly ???


Pardon me for starting a Brand new topic.

« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 12:36:09 AM by -midnight »

Dch48

  • Guest
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2013, 12:32:25 AM »
It doesn't work quite right. It incorrectly reports installed versions and wants to do updates that are not needed. Case in point, uTorrent, it says I have 3.1.3 when I actually have the latest 3.2 version. It also wants to update Flash which is at the latest version. It did correctly pick up that Silverlight and Shockwave had new versions but I did not let it do the updating since I didn't trust it. I uninstalled Silverlight 4 first as the Microsoft site recommended and then used Windows Update to get the latest one which is v5. Why it hadn't already come through on WU before, I don't know. I also updated Shockwave through the Adobe site. It just reinforces my decision to not use things like this, including Secunia and the others which also don't work perfectly.

Midnight, you're doing well by not downloading it. I can see where it may cause problems. The good thing about it is that it's a portable application which does not install on the system so just deleting it from wherever you downloaded it to removes it. (except for any firewall rules that may have had to be created to allow it to work correctly and it does need one to allow it to connect to the internet) I also think you did well to create this topic since concerns may be justified.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 12:44:03 AM by Dch48 »

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2013, 01:59:14 AM »
I've used Patch My PC for quite a while, just running it once or twice a month to check for anything that might not be up to date. I haven't had any problems with it, if it mentions something is out of date I use the out dated program to update or I go to the proper website.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2423
  • Always Be Kind
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2013, 05:42:36 PM »
Funny!

Windows update and automatic program update checks work fine for me. I also use Secunia to double check and if I have a program open I will also manually check for updates.

-midnight,
You should invest in a portable drive to store an image and a file backup on. Maybe try Virtual Machine. Or, buy a computer used specifically for testing.

I didn't know what a Virtual Machine was so I did a search and found a couple I could download for free but I'm a bit leery about downloading something I know nothing about.

http://www.windows7download.com/win7-windows-xp-mode-windows-virtual-pc-/rmnmpshy.html 

I  have no idea about how to use this.   ???
« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 06:08:03 PM by -midnight »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47431
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2013, 05:47:26 PM »
Then simply skip it.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2423
  • Always Be Kind
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2013, 05:54:09 PM »
I want to see what Charyb has to say about it.  If he has nothing to say I will skip it.

« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 07:01:43 PM by -midnight »

Dch48

  • Guest
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2013, 12:46:46 AM »
You need a very powerful machine to run VM. I tried the LinuxLive USB program and running it virtually in Windows is terrible. It lags and freezes constantly. When booted from the stick, it runs fine.  Different program yes, but it gives you an idea what you need to run a virtual machine successfully. Also what you were looking at is only a way to run Windows XP applications in a virtual environment on Windows 7. It is only for that and is not a true Virtual machine in which you can run whatever you want.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 12:52:24 AM by Dch48 »

Offline Charyb-0

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2508
Re: Bob3160.......interesting.........Patch My PC
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2013, 04:11:19 AM »
Running an operating system within an operating system does use extra resources. You must allocate system and video memory.

The main thing I have seen causing slow performance is incorrect default VM settings. I dread installing the guest operating system to have it run sluggish in the VM. Many of the default settings are incorrect for both VMWare and VirtualBox depending on which OS you install. I also had problems with mouse integration in VirtualBox which has worked itself out. I'm not certain if I fixed it or if it fixed itself.

For example, I installed Linux Mint 14 in VirtualBox and with one setting change it ran great. I installed Ubuntu 12.04 and spent a couple hours trying to get it to run correctly.

Once the settings are correct, it runs great on my computer. I could maybe run Windows 7 and two guest operating systems at once and then I would probably be out of resources. Different variables would quickly change this though.

It's a pain in the rear to set up. Once the settings are correct things run great.

Before trying any of this, you need a backup plan other than restore. In fact, I have restore turned off and am using Seagate for daily backup of personal files/folders and Windows 7 system image for weekly system b/u.


EDIT: I want to add, before running anything in a virtual machine, know your license agreement for any software run inside the virtual machine as well as your resident OS.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2013, 11:41:06 PM by Charyb »