Author Topic: help me for update  (Read 4548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
help me for update
« on: March 30, 2005, 08:06:57 AM »
Hi some time ago , i used a dial up connection (adsl)
but now i use a ethernet connection & a modem d-link
but i'm not every time online
what kind of setting should i setup the the automatic update??? ??? ??? ???
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: help me for update
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2005, 01:47:13 PM »
Mantra, as you know, by default avast! checks if there is an available connection each 40 seconds. If there isn't, wait more 40 seconds to check. If there is a connection, check for an update. If there is not any new file to download, wait 4 hours to start checking again. If there is an available update, start it and install it. Again, wait 4 hours to check the next time.

I think you can check the dial-up option, that will check only when the 'connection' is detected.
The best things in life are free.

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re: help me for update
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2005, 03:42:36 PM »
Mantra, as you know, by default avast! checks if there is an available connection each 40 seconds. If there isn't, wait more 40 seconds to check. If there is a connection, check for an update. If there is not any new file to download, wait 4 hours to start checking again. If there is an available update, start it and install it. Again, wait 4 hours to check the next time.

I think you can check the dial-up option, that will check only when the 'connection' is detected.
ummm
dial up doesn't work , and the second option try to update when i 'm offile
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re: help me for update
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2005, 08:49:59 AM »
is there somebody that can help me ?please >:( >:( >:(
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11791
    • AVAST Software
Re: help me for update
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2005, 09:55:42 AM »
What exactly does it mean, "dial up doesn't work"?

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re: help me for update
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2005, 10:26:21 AM »
that avast doesn't try to update

i can see avast --setting--update(basic)--details
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re: help me for update
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2005, 08:17:37 AM »
Quote
What exactly does it mean, "dial up doesn't work"?

avast does update ! with dial up
i use a d-link adsl 300t and a marvel built in in a asus

AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK