Author Topic: New AVAST 8!  (Read 171975 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OsFly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #285 on: March 25, 2013, 01:15:12 AM »
Nope. thats not avast fault. avast works fine with thunderbird. V16. cant upgrade. new versions break important plugin.
check if your ssl/tls settings are right. scroll a bit up in this thread and you can read about it to
WIndows7 pro 64bit. EN     previous: Windows 8 Pro EN 64bit upgrade version (clean installed on empty disk) but windows 8 is terrible.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86803
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #286 on: March 25, 2013, 01:16:54 AM »
I don't like it. It has disabled my thunderbird. cant send or receive. what a mess.

There are many such topics and solutions for that, one such topic and post http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=117409.msg909409#msg909409.

Is that what you are experiencing ?
Don't answer in this massive topic:
- if so try to follow that topic to resolve your problem
- if not then please start your own new topic and give as much information, error messages, etc. and we will try to help.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

wamccabe

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #287 on: March 26, 2013, 02:25:48 PM »
I've been using Avast for offline (no internet connection) computers for a while and updating by downloading the updates from http://www.avast.com/download-update . I've noticed that the updates only cover up to version 7. Does this mean that updates for version 8 are not going to be available this way? If so, I'm going to have to try and find a different AV scanner.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86803
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #288 on: March 26, 2013, 02:39:03 PM »
The same avast! 5 & 6 & 7 series VPS update also covers avast 8.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

wamccabe

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #289 on: April 02, 2013, 04:44:45 PM »
Thanks for that. Is there any reason the download page doesn't mention it?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86803
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #290 on: April 02, 2013, 05:40:16 PM »
Thanks for that. Is there any reason the download page doesn't mention it?

Only that it hasn't been updated since avast 8's release. But, as an avast user I don't know why.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

tairidisp

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #291 on: April 08, 2013, 04:15:09 PM »
Very very good job guys avast 8 is perfect!!!  ;)

gcib

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #292 on: April 18, 2013, 09:13:00 AM »
Кошки
Very very good job guys avast 8 is perfect!!!  ;)
I'm also quite pleased with the new program Avast!

Davy

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #293 on: May 03, 2013, 12:26:14 AM »
'Crap, BSOD on boot scan'!

Decided to do a Avast re-install after a BSOD doing a boot scan - mistake!

It installed Chrome without ones knowledge....! The screen apparently with the option box is only on for a brief second, no wonder folks are angry we want Avast not Chrome - let Google do their own snooping.

And *NO* doing a custom install won't work either - why? Because there are no options there to install or not to install Google Chrome.

Simply put, the option box isn't on long enough to make ones choice! If this isn't going to be fixed.... then I'm off no more Avast for me.

Any 'sticky notes' to appease the angry few?

Dave
« Last Edit: May 03, 2013, 12:30:48 AM by Davy »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47251
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #294 on: May 03, 2013, 12:33:34 AM »
'Crap, BSOD on boot scan'!

Decided to do a Avast re-install after a BSOD doing a boot scan - mistake!

It installed Chrome without ones knowledge....! The screen apparently with the option box is only on for a brief second, no wonder folks are angry we want Avast not Chrome - let Google do their own snooping.

And *NO* doing a custom install won't work either - why? Because there are no options there to install or not to install Google Chrome.

Simply put, the option box isn't on long enough to make ones choice! If this isn't going to be fixed.... then I'm off no more Avast for me.

Any 'sticky notes' to appease the angry few?

Dave
Maybe this will help:
http://youtu.be/V0P3JFfBCDk
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Davy

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #295 on: May 03, 2013, 01:16:58 AM »
Thanks Bob, much appreciated.

Sorry to disappoint but yep I've used the removal tool, cleaned all Alwil & Avast Files... removed Registry entries for same incl. Google Chrome opt in/out all to no avail.

Problem is as discovered, is the  opt in/out  screen is only visible for no more than a couple of seconds. Some people elsewhere tells you do a custom install..... do they really know what they are talking about I ask?

If you look at the custom install screen there ain't no option to opt in or out of Google Chrome - only Avast modules, they just don't comprehend! The only option  is the 'flash screen' that appears very briefly as said, of course there's always the manual method of removal I suppose -  I refuse to go down that Street because I shouldn't have to do.

Thanks, Dave

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #296 on: February 17, 2014, 04:25:19 PM »
Oh....!!! Changing My Thunderbirds server settings 'Connection Security' to SSL/TLS solved My problem....!!! (why???)

When I tried to access my email, I received a Thunderbird message that my password was incorrect.

I changed my 'Connection Security' from STARTTLS to SSL/TLS.

When I tried to load my email, I received a security exception from Thunderbird. After accepting the exception, I am able to read my email.

I still cannot change the setting back to STARTTLS.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76213
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #297 on: February 17, 2014, 04:34:48 PM »
Please start a new topic, avast! 8 is outdated.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47251
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #298 on: February 17, 2014, 04:37:01 PM »
Oh....!!! Changing My Thunderbirds server settings 'Connection Security' to SSL/TLS solved My problem....!!! (why???)

When I tried to access my email, I received a Thunderbird message that my password was incorrect.

I changed my 'Connection Security' from STARTTLS to SSL/TLS.

When I tried to load my email, I received a security exception from Thunderbird. After accepting the exception, I am able to read my email.

I still cannot change the setting back to STARTTLS.
Please start your own topic.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://