Author Topic: New AVAST 8!  (Read 193941 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #60 on: February 28, 2013, 05:14:47 PM »
Can ı use firewall with free version? I see firewall options enable disable.

Yes you can used Comodo Firewall next to Avast Free as the Avast firewall in not included in the free unless you're ready to activated means are you ready to buy the Avast Internet Security (AIS) as a full complete version.


Edit:- Thanks Pavels for the update version as I had to do a complete clean installed of Avast Free.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 05:17:55 PM by SpeedyPC »
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

nithin.2spans160

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #61 on: February 28, 2013, 05:21:04 PM »
Hi, i have installed avast 8.0.1482, i have some problem with behavioral script and web shield, behavioral script turns my screen black after login page and web shield only allows some site, even avast forum is not allowed!!!
so i stopped both, hope to have fix in next update, remaining everything is best!! I love Avast...  :) :D 8) :-*

Sorry i forget to mention that i use windows 8 pro x86..
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 05:25:00 PM by nithin.2spans160 »

Avastlover24

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #62 on: February 28, 2013, 05:25:10 PM »
I just downloaded the new Avast! 8 - Firmly I had concerns, but now I recall and regard it as a vital upgrade. I really like the new avast 8 and I'll continue using it, since it protects me 2 years now 100%.


Thank you avast team, I love ya and reccomend ya ALWAYS. Please accept my respect and regards!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89343
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #63 on: February 28, 2013, 05:25:20 PM »
Yes still showing RTM build 8.0.1481 as already up to date, have tried a few times, but still no joy.

I have been able to get the program update from my win7 netbook that was on the avast 7.0.1474, now I didn't get the usual update screen, where I was able to do a custom update and I ended up with browser cleanup, software updater and Ad Blocker that I wouldn't have installed on a pre-selection.

It had the winpatrol plus crash again but much earlier in the game, but again when asking about new startup entries.
<snip>

Update: Reference the WinPatrol Plus crashing, Bill at WinPatrol BillPStudios is on it and has been able to duplicate. He is working on a fix, so hopefully soon. See http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=116212.msg902635#msg902635 for more detail.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

true indian

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #64 on: February 28, 2013, 05:28:20 PM »
Hi, i have installed avast 8.0.1482, i have some problem with behavioral script and web shield, behavioral script turns my screen black after login page and web shield only allows some site, even avast forum is not allowed!!!
so i stopped both, hope to have fix in next update, remaining everything is best!! I love Avast...  :) :D 8) :-*

Sorry i forget to mention that i use windows 8 pro x86..

I have already asked you to report bugs here:
feedback.avast.com

have you done this or not?

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3398
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #65 on: February 28, 2013, 05:29:40 PM »
Update: Reference the WinPatrol Plus crashing, Bill at WinPatrol BillPStudios is on it and has been able to duplicate. He is working on a fix, so hopefully soon. See http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=116212.msg902635#msg902635 for more detail.

Thanks for the heads up DavidR ;)
Gigabyte 670 LGA1200 Full ATX MB | Intel Core i9-13900 CPU/LGA 1700 | GeForce Nvidia RTX-4070/12GB | 32GB DDR4 | 2 x 1TB Samsung SSD | W11 Home 64bit | Avast Premium v24.3.6108 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | Firefox 64bit | MalwareBytes Premium | Adguard Premium | CCleaner Portable | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

sedina

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #66 on: February 28, 2013, 05:40:47 PM »
A minor typing error on "FIx now" on the software updater page. Should be "Fix now"
thats caused by the font - we'll fix it in next program update

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89343
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #67 on: February 28, 2013, 05:41:32 PM »
Update: Reference the WinPatrol Plus crashing, Bill at WinPatrol BillPStudios is on it and has been able to duplicate. He is working on a fix, so hopefully soon. See http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=116212.msg902635#msg902635 for more detail.

Thanks for the heads up DavidR ;)

You're welcome, hopefully it won't be too long to get the fix.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Destrio5

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #68 on: February 28, 2013, 05:48:00 PM »
Hi,

Quote
I found a issue where after installing Avast IS RTM 8, the CPU sits at its maximum frequency and wont drop down to save power, also the power options to change the min and max cpu in the control panel are missing. Once I uninstall avast the CPU options are back and the CPU frequency is dynamic again? =)

By frequency I mean 2.3GHz but 0% cpu usage. Where normally it would drop to 1.3GHz.
--> http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=115499.msg902472#msg902472

I have the same problem. My brother too.

Since installation Avast 8, the frequency of my processor is always at most. Without Avast 8, the frequency of my processor decreased when it was not used a lot.

Please fix it ;)

enigmista63

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #69 on: February 28, 2013, 06:51:18 PM »
Hello I have a license for 3 PCs avast internet security 7 to switch laa version of avast 8 PM I use the current license or should I buy a new one?

Dokson

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #70 on: February 28, 2013, 07:12:47 PM »
Have to uninstall previous (version 7) first?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 07:15:41 PM by Dokson »

vecchio

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #71 on: February 28, 2013, 07:15:17 PM »
your license will be valid for the product version you have bought it until the end of validity period

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 298
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #72 on: February 28, 2013, 07:21:16 PM »
Hi, please try modified version of aswVmm driver (64 bit Windows only):
http://www2.avast.com/files/aswvmm/x64/aswvmm.zip

1) Disable Avast! self defense
2) Replace aswVmm.sys in Windows\System32\Drivers directory with downloaded version
3) Enable self defense again
4) Reboot

After reboot dynamic CPU clocking should be back,  It should also fix missing L1/L2/L3 cache info

Hi,

Quote
I found a issue where after installing Avast IS RTM 8, the CPU sits at its maximum frequency and wont drop down to save power, also the power options to change the min and max cpu in the control panel are missing. Once I uninstall avast the CPU options are back and the CPU frequency is dynamic again? =)

By frequency I mean 2.3GHz but 0% cpu usage. Where normally it would drop to 1.3GHz.
-->

I have the same problem. My brother too.

Since installation Avast 8, the frequency of my processor is always at most. Without Avast 8, the frequency of my processor decreased when it was not used a lot.

Please fix it ;)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6700
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #73 on: February 28, 2013, 07:35:03 PM »
nice release.
i want to ask, i have serial key for avast IS (valid 2 years) , is it can be installed on premier edition ?? bcoz premier vs internet security only has few difference.
thanks in advance.
No. They are two different products. http://www.avast.com/en-us/compare-antivirus
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

kinfolk66

  • Guest
Re: New AVAST 8!
« Reply #74 on: February 28, 2013, 07:36:22 PM »
I would still like to know how current license holders for Internet Security can upgrade to the Premier version. Anyone?