Author Topic: Crash after v. 8 update  (Read 3750 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ululator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Crash after v. 8 update
« on: March 02, 2013, 03:50:45 PM »
My computer wouldn’t restart after installing the Avast v. 8.0.1482 update.  I’ve tried updating three times, once through the program, once through Avast’s website – I even ran Avast’s Uninstall utility in Safe Mode & started over from scratch.  But each time, my computer froze at restart.  I finally had to unplug, then run System Restore to get it up & running.  I have the Avast Free Edition v. 7.0.1482 & Vista-64 Home Premium.

I’ve used Avast for years & generally like it – EXCEPT for these problems with updates.  I’ve had similar problems with previous updates, & judging from what I’ve seen in the forum, I’m not alone.

I guess it’s time top start researching alternatives.

Offline ddalbiez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 03:54:09 PM »
BSOD on XP SP3. Had to uninstall V8 in safe mode and reinstall V7(http://www.oldapps.com/avast_antivirus.php).
Avast 8 does not seem ready for release!

Offline gone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2013, 04:22:56 PM »
BSOD on XP SP3. Had to uninstall V8 in safe mode and reinstall V7(http://www.oldapps.com/avast_antivirus.php).
Avast 8 does not seem ready for release!

Thx for the link. I've searched for the 7 version because 8 doesn't work. I don't trust Avira just deleted it.

Offline True Indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 712
  • A Good Old Indian!
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2013, 04:25:21 PM »
please upload all minidumps from : C:\windows\minidumps

to ftp.avast.com/incoming and dont forget to give the dumps a unique name and post the name here on next reply...avast team will check the dumps and try to resolve the BSOD's

this should help: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg904257#msg904257
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 05:08:42 PM by true indian »

Offline ululator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2013, 05:38:33 PM »
That folder is empty – probably because I had to run System Restore (& I really don’t want to reinstall v. 8 again, to produce a crash/crash results!)

Offline mjmmbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2013, 07:51:28 PM »
I'm having big problems with this version. I have been running Avast for at least five years.

I updated to version 8 on WinXP, and at first the computer would run, but I would go to start Firefox or IE and the computer would just reboot instantly.

I then completely removed Avast with the aswclear utility and reinstalled. Then it would reboot as soon as windows started. I removed Avast in safe mode and installed something else for now. I didn't get any minidumps at all.

The main software I have running at boot is Zonealarm Free, AMD Catalyst and a TP-Link USB Printer controller.

Offline hake

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2013, 08:04:12 PM »
I found that on restarting after installing v8 over v7 that it helps to leave the system for five minutes or so after startup, say enough time to have a cup of tea, before logging on to Windows.

If you halt the system because you think it is hanging and then restart it, Avast will probably misbehave thereafter.  Whatever niggles I have with v8, it can run and function properly.

I use Windows XP SP3 and intend to persist with Avast 7.0.1474 for a little while longer.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2013, 08:07:27 PM by hake »
Windows XP SP3, Avast Free 10.2.2015, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3
Windows 7, Avast Free 11.2.2262, Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6712
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2013, 08:14:09 PM »
Avast 8 does not seem ready for release!
v8.0 is quite ready for release.
Try a clean install.
Download the proper version.
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe
From safe mode use aswClear - http://files.avast.com/test5beta/aswclear.exe
Run the uninstall utility for each version of avast you have/had.
Reboot.
Install v8.0
Reboot
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline ululator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2013, 09:39:48 PM »
Para-Noid:  I already went through those exact steps (on my third attempt to update to v. 8.)  So far, the only thing that’s resolved the crash problem has been to return to Avast Free 7.0.1474.

Offline ddalbiez

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Crash after v. 8 update
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2013, 09:42:52 PM »
Avast 8 does not seem ready for release!
v8.0 is quite ready for release.
Try a clean install.
Download the proper version.
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe
From safe mode use aswClear - http://files.avast.com/test5beta/aswclear.exe
Run the uninstall utility for each version of avast you have/had.
Reboot.
Install v8.0
Reboot
Did that. And BSOD! Several users experienced exactly the same issue on XP SP3.
Hence my statement: Avast 8 does not seem ready for release! In other words, it was not properly tested on all supported configurations.