Author Topic: Win 7 stuck in infinite startup repair loop after program update?  (Read 6513 times)

madmumbler

I use the free version. I have Windows 7 on a Toshiba Satellite T135. (No CD drive.)

I got the prompt to upgrade the software and did so this afternoon. Didn't do the restart then because I was busy. Shut it down to go to dinner. Came back and tried to start the computer, and now it's stuck in a repeated Startup Repair loop. If I try to pick Start Normally it shuts down and restarts to the Startup Repair prompt screen. It does NOT allow me to boot into safe mode.

I'm a writer and on deadline with a book and I'm NOT happy right now. I didn't do my daily backup yet (was going to do it after dinner) and NEED this laptop back up and running.

HELP!!!

Offline jefferson sant

• Starting Graphoman
  • volunteer
Re: Win 7 stuck in infinite startup repair loop after program update?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 01:41:53 AM »
Use the uninstall tool in safe mode press f8 repeatedly

http://files.avast.com/test5beta/aswclear.exe

Download locations
avast 8.0.1483

http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 01:45:44 AM by jefferson santiag »

clems

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 02:16:16 AM »
Unless its an unlucky coincidence, I was bit by the same problem.  I saw a notice that there was a new version available, I didn't pay much attention and clicked through it.  It installed the Pro version in trial mode.  I decided to fix it later (go back to the free version).