Author Topic: too many open sockets  (Read 6924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

opal219

  • Guest
too many open sockets
« on: March 08, 2005, 06:58:57 PM »
Hello,
I have done a search on the above topic.. read the long string of responses and didn't see a solution.

We are running XP-pro, IE6, using the windows firewall and have 2 computers running on one network.  We connect via cable and have a wireless hub.  This computer (the slave) is running just fine with the avast software.  The master however is not. 
When connected to the net, there is a constant problem with pages loading properly. Most of the time the "page cannot be displayed" with the error message :
avast web proxy  too many sockets open
occasionaly a page will load but then each graphic and non-text item that tries to load, displays that lovely little red X in its place.
help please  :)

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2005, 07:17:07 PM »
Your avatar is way too large for this board. Make it smaller please (forum policy)

Find out what is connecting to the net and see if something is trying to use many connections.

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2005, 07:19:24 PM »
HOLY COW!  I didn't realize it was sooooo big....  deleting it shortly

as for finding out what is connecting.. how? (not a computer geek here)

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2005, 07:38:28 PM »
For a start you can check your firewall to see what is connecting to the net.
Also the running programs/process in taskmanager already may tell us more.

The function netstat can also list the current connections.
start > run > cmd > netstat -b
« Last Edit: March 08, 2005, 07:41:59 PM by Eddy »

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2005, 07:44:47 PM »
 hmmm I was just starting to type out what's running on this computer when I realized that it's the other one I need the running processes from.  This could take a little time.
back shortly

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2005, 07:45:34 PM »
Take all the time you need. Better slow and good than fast and sorry ;)

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2005, 08:15:40 PM »
ok.. I went in and did screen captures of the task manager then came back, got the cmd instruction and whoa!  what a fast long scroll!   it was predominated by something called upsq.exe over and over again.  anyway.. screen shots

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2005, 08:17:24 PM »
aww man.. too big and I can not find a button to edit it.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2005, 08:18:33 PM »
upsq.exe is not a process I know. Even GOOGLE returns zero results for it.
Are you sure you have spelled it correctly?
If so I suggest you click on the link in my signature and follow the instructions in the malware removal section.
Just to make sure the system is clean from malware.
Let's rule that out first.
And take the time it needs to do as stated on that webpage.
No need to rush things.

EDIT:
if you ment opsq.exe the same applies.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2005, 08:20:55 PM by Eddy »

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2005, 08:20:52 PM »
oops.. typo
opsq

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2005, 08:22:15 PM »
As I said in the edit, the same applies.
I also see a lot of things running at that system that are not needed.
I suggest you disable them from loading at boottime and see if it solves the problem or make a difference.

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2005, 08:41:15 PM »
nifty!  I have 3 of the 4 programs already   :) :) :)
downloading hijacker now..   the other computer doesn't have them installed.. my s/o is a hardnose about stuff on his system.. so I am running them now from a shared folder. 
I have a reg cleaner folder to stop some things on startup... I am just not sure what everything is on that list.  I can kill off the things I know about that we don't need to come up automatically (msmsg keeps coming back anyway)
Thanks for helping.. It will be a while before I run the programs then follow the rest of the list. 

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2005, 08:43:25 PM »
As I said, take you time.
For help with HijackThis, I suggest you visit the HJT section on my website.
There you can find my HijackThis log analyzer, a online analyzer and every other info you need.
(or at least links to the info)

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2005, 09:37:40 PM »
I found out what that file is.. its from opinion site.. one of the survey spammers.  don't ask  :::shakes head:::
still working on stuff... I haven't forgotten you.
thanks again.

opal219

  • Guest
Re: too many open sockets
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2005, 11:50:58 PM »
Eddy, thank you so much!!!  all fixed, up and running... now if he touches any settings !!!!!!   grrrr  LOL ;D