Author Topic: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore  (Read 21155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline davexnet

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 537
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #30 on: April 13, 2013, 02:53:31 PM »
Surely, a workaround should be a short term solution.  I can accept that.
However, I'm uneasy that the problem is not really acknowledged, what it is, why it's occurring and
how / when it will be fixed.

I think the product is getting too complex, with extra features being jammed in there.

I see version 1845 is being prepared and it has a new feature called SecureLine.
I don't understand this, why destabilize the product further, for an update within the same version?
Why not wait until avast! 9 ?  I think it's the wrong way to go - within the same version updates
should be used to make the product as rock solid as possible.  At the moment t looks a little fragile.
AMD FX-4300 4GB DDR3
avast free 2279 (Windows XP), MBAM free

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43897
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #31 on: April 13, 2013, 04:02:39 PM »
(snip)
I see version 1845 is being prepared and it has a new feature called SecureLine.
I don't understand this, why destabilize the product further, for an update within the same version?
Why not wait until avast! 9 ?  I think it's the wrong way to go - within the same version updates
should be used to make the product as rock solid as possible.  At the moment t looks a little fragile.
It's a paid service only available after you get your license. Has nothing to do with the stability of avast!.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline clanderson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #32 on: April 13, 2013, 06:37:10 PM »
Bob, your little workaround (which isn't actually a workaround at all, but the very thing we are looking to avoid - completely reinstalling avast!) is not sufficient. When constantly working with new software like me, you need to do system restores fairly frequently, and reinstalling avast! every time is just absurd. We welcome input, but in cases like this, you need to take a stand and be firm in your request for a solid resolution to a problem.


edit: I've had to reinstall avast! 3 times this week.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40631
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #33 on: April 13, 2013, 06:40:37 PM »
Always disable Avast self protection before running system restore and that may alleviate the problem

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43897
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #34 on: April 13, 2013, 06:42:14 PM »
Bob, your little workaround (which isn't actually a workaround at all, but the very thing we are looking to avoid - completely reinstalling avast!) is not sufficient. When constantly working with new software like me, you need to do system restores fairly frequently, and reinstalling avast! every time is just absurd. We welcome input, but in cases like this, you need to take a stand and be firm in your request for a solid resolution to a problem.


edit: I've had to reinstall avast! 3 times this week.
Sorry, but a IMHO, a virtual environment is far more desirable and much safer when playing with new software than relying on
something as unreliable as System Restore.
It's your computer so it's your choice and your possible headache.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Mellabella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #35 on: April 13, 2013, 08:27:55 PM »
Problems I had 3 weeks ago are now back again and this time it isn't even possible to uninstall Avast free V8, even in the safe mode.
Want to uninstall this once and for all and install Avast V7, which has always worked without problem. How do I go about this. Have Windows 7, 64b.
Any re-boot I do results in a black screen, which isn't helped by a System Restore.
Not possible either to update Windows 7; updates download but when I re-boot just get a black screen with the cursor. >:(

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40631
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #36 on: April 13, 2013, 08:36:02 PM »
That may be related to a bad windows update http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2839011

Offline cebongan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #37 on: April 14, 2013, 01:20:18 AM »
you people here have the same problem with me.
but i have solved it by rolling back to Avast 7...
I have submitted a ticket to..

i now simply want to know why it happened and what the response.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83545
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #38 on: April 14, 2013, 01:40:29 AM »
I have answered your topic you created 6 minutes before this post. Please stick to the one topic it just causes duplication of effort for those trying to help, thanks.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Mellabella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #39 on: April 14, 2013, 08:36:41 AM »
That may be related to a bad windows update http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2839011


Unfortuantely I don't have that particular update installed, so that can't be the cause.

Offline clanderson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #40 on: April 14, 2013, 03:58:17 PM »
A virtual environment would require me to basically duplicate my current machine onto the virtual machine, which is basically impossible to do real time. Don't assume you have the answer, it's ok to be wrong.

Also, I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but I disabled self-protection before I did system restore and it still required a reinstall. That was pretty frustrating :\