Author Topic: Web shield....  (Read 33090 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cjtc

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2005, 09:26:33 PM »
Yep, I've just noticed a problem with WebShield tonight also.

Using Firefox 1.0.1, it's good for a few pages, then all web access freezes. Once it's frozen in Firefox, can't do anything in IE either. E-mail is OK though. Looking in my firewall (Outpost 2.5), I can see that there are several connections open for ashWebSv, one for each page that I had been trying to load since the freeze. All of them are going nowhere. No traffic reported. ashWebSv is not being blocked, it's just not communicating.

So, disable the WebShield provider, kill off the ashWebSv.exe process and, voila, can browse again.

Any ideas, Alwil?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2005, 09:48:00 PM »
The best things in life are free.

cjtc

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2005, 10:00:49 PM »
Just tried it. No good. Froze after 4 pages. Stop WebSheild, kill ashWebSv.exe and everything's OK again.

I know it patched OK, because Process Guard alerted me to the changed checksum.

Sorry, no joy. Any more ideas?

Datagg

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2005, 10:16:31 AM »
Datagg, you should definitely send us the minidumps. They should be in the \windows\minidump folder, as Lukor explained above. There should be 1 minidump per each system crash (or sudden reboot).

Thanks
Vlk

I found 2 in there..I hope they tell ya something.  Ive had no more problems since shield was shut down.

EDIT....Tried to send,  error came up-  Mini031405-01.dmp.
You cannot upload that type of file. The only allowed extensions are txt,jpg,gif,png,log.

Can I convert them to something that still can be read.... ??

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2005, 11:44:50 AM »
I found 2 in there..I hope they tell ya something.  Ive had no more problems since shield was shut down.

EDIT....Tried to send,  error came up-  Mini031405-01.dmp.
You cannot upload that type of file. The only allowed extensions are txt,jpg,gif,png,log.

Can I convert them to something that still can be read.... ??

You can send them to my email or upload to our anonymous ftp server ftp://www2.asw.cz/incoming

Lukas.

Datagg

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2005, 10:05:17 PM »
lukor, i fired ya off an email...with 2 dumps, and a error log screenie from xp logs regarding firefox crash

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2005, 10:22:23 PM »
Thanks datagg, I'lll look at it ASAP.

Lukas.

Datagg

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #22 on: March 18, 2005, 07:38:19 AM »
Lukor, you see anything in them files???  No rush bro..Just didnt want to miss ya...

rjbook

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2005, 02:07:36 PM »
I too have had web shield block my DSL internet access.   I run WinXP sp1 and had also been running Sygate Personal Firewall and Spybot (with immunization) through my router.  With Web Shield enabled I could not even access my router set up.  I had no problem with the initial 4.6.03 software, but the latest version has caused nothing but problems.  I suspect the combination of firewall, spybot and Avast Web Shield was just overkill.

The solution I'm afraid was just to disable Web Shield for now and continue to use Spybot.  Once disabled my system has worked perfectly.
RJB

hipgnosis

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #24 on: March 18, 2005, 02:29:36 PM »
I found a problem with WebShield last night also.  I actually noticed the problem several days ago but because it's related to something I don't do daily it wasn't at the top of my investigation list.

The problem is related to me accessing some company web pages via VPN.  I could get into my company's domain and access almost everything I need to with one glaring exception.  There was one page in particular that I suddenly could no longer access.  Because of the error I was getting, "web page or server unavailable", "possible DNS issue", etc., I strongly assumed a firewall problem but I eliminated that possibility by un-installing the firewall.

The way I finally determined it was WebShield related was by terminating all Avast modules and trying to access the web page in question.....it worked again!

So I started turning on each module and trying the same page again.  It worked each time until I restarted the WebShield.

I tried putting the page in question in the WebShield "Exceptions" list but it seems that function has a problem also.

The web page I was trying to add to "Exceptions" was an "https" page and you apparently can't add those.  When I typed in the page "https://*******" Avast automatically added the prefix "http", so it ended up being "http://https://******"
Obviously that wouldn't work so I finally gave up, terminated the WebShield module and now I can access everything again.

I am using Windows XP Professional, SP2

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #25 on: March 18, 2005, 02:31:32 PM »
I suspect the combination of firewall, spybot and Avast Web Shield was just overkill.

I can't see the influence of SpyBot... It should not interfere on connection.
Maybe you can try to set WebShield correctly and/or set your proxy.
More info for WebShield behavior: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=1647.msg100190#msg100190
Patch for WebShield: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=12015.msg101725#msg101725

Proxy:
Internet Explorer: Tools > Internet Options > Connections > Lan Settings > Uncheck 'Use a proxy server'
Firefox: Tools > Options > General > Connections Settings > Check' Direct connection to the Internet'
The best things in life are free.

Datagg

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #26 on: March 18, 2005, 02:32:50 PM »
Hmmmm now that is odd... All my firefox crashes , and all times internet dies out is also on an https site.   Since shield shut off, no more probs.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #27 on: March 18, 2005, 02:34:56 PM »
The web page I was trying to add to "Exceptions" was an "https" page and you apparently can't add those.  When I typed in the page "https://*******" Avast automatically added the prefix "http", so it ended up being "http://https://******"
Obviously that wouldn't work so I finally gave up, terminated the WebShield module and now I can access everything again.

It's not a wise thing disabling the provider but troubleshooting to solve what could be wrong  8)
WebShield analyses all traffic passing thru a HTTP connection (between your browser and an Internet server) and the HTTPS traffic is encrypted and cannot be analysed by any other application. WebShield won't block it in my opinion...
The best things in life are free.

hipgnosis

  • Guest
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #28 on: March 18, 2005, 02:42:39 PM »
It's not a wise thing disabling the provider but troubleshooting to solve what could be wrong  8)
WebShield analyses all traffic passing thru a HTTP connection (between your browser and an Internet server) and the HTTPS traffic is encrypted and cannot be analysed by any other application. WebShield won't block it in my opinion...

Apparently there is some relationship to WebShield and https because when WebShield is terminated, I can access the https pages and when it is turned on I can't.  By the way, just pausing it doesn't help, it has to be terminated.  When everything else remains the same with the exception of WebShield being on or terminated it strongly points to WebShield being the culprit.  IMHO

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1884
    • AVAST Software
Re: Web shield....
« Reply #29 on: March 18, 2005, 02:57:35 PM »
Apparently there is some relationship to WebShield and https because when WebShield is terminated, I can access the https pages and when it is turned on I can't. 

What avast's version do you have installed. There were issues with https:// and 4.6.603 and these should be fixed in 4.6.623.