Author Topic: Reset Administrator Password in avast! Enterprise Administration Console  (Read 20824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ACCLAIM Academy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hi! I need to change the default admin password for avast! Enterprise Administration Console.

I have referred to the manual which would like me to use the EAS Maintenance tool. Unfortunately, I do not have an option to "Reset Password" as stated on page 23 of the PDF manual.
http://files.avast.com/files/documentation/enterprise-administration-user-guide.pdf

I have referred to the Knowledge Base which would like me to use the CLI, however the command specified is not applicable due to ?updates/changes/etc..? in the program that have been made since the creation of that document. The directory structures have changed and the command is unrecognized.
https://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=1026


Please Help?

I would like to add that so far I have been able to install the software, deploy endpoints remotely, create groupings of computers, scheduled scans, opened necessary TCP/UDP ports, and etc....
This software seems pretty easy to use...so IDK why I'm having such a hard time changing the admin password!!!
« Last Edit: April 11, 2013, 08:53:05 PM by starwindenterprises »

Offline Che Johnson

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Try using the following...

Run the following command and then check the EAS Maintenance tool afterwards.

C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\AmsTool.exe /pwdreset

or

C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\AmsTool.exe -pwdreset


Offline ACCLAIM Academy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Try using the following...

Run the following command and then check the EAS Maintenance tool afterwards.

C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\AmsTool.exe /pwdreset

or

C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\AmsTool.exe -pwdreset


This worked! When I ran the command via CLI, the EAS Maintenance tool immediately displayed with the appropriate "Reset Password" button.

Thank you!

Offline ironman37

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Also if you just needed to change it from the default password you could change it in the Users folder within the AEA console.

Offline aaron.nickles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Reset Administrator Password in avast! Enterprise Administration Console
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2014, 10:06:31 PM »
I'm in the same boat.  I don't have the password reset button in the AEA maintenance tool.  When I run the command stated above the command is not recognized.

Offline derrick9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Reset Administrator Password in avast! Enterprise Administration Console
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2015, 03:12:22 PM »
Be wary as it will not limit the length of the password you try to set it to, but there is a limit.

When you put that password to log into the AEA Console you will get an error.

Offline HAtech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Reset Administrator Password in avast! Enterprise Administration Console
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2015, 03:16:40 PM »
Also if you just needed to change it from the default password you could change it in the Users folder within the AEA console.