Author Topic: newly installed Avast!  (Read 4695 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MarieJoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
newly installed Avast!
« on: March 29, 2005, 09:18:12 PM »
 ???
I installed Avast! Home -free and when it came to the register part, I clicked it and nothing happened.
How do I know the product is registered and how do I get automatic updates. 
I don't care that Windows doesn't recognize avast!--I just changed the setting to I'll do it mylself.
But, I'd like to know that I have the most current protections.

Thanks much!
Win XP-SP2, Avast! 5.6-2808, Sygate Personal firewall
Dell Dimension 4500, 768 MB of RAM, Pentium 4

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2005, 09:46:48 PM »
I installed Avast! Home -free and when it came to the register part, I clicked it and nothing happened.
How do I know the product is registered and how do I get automatic updates.
The product is not automatically registered. You should follow the instructions here: http://www.avast.com/i_kat_207.php?lang=ENG
After that, copy & paste the registration number and be sure to not include the 'last blank space' in the paragraph while copying & pasting.

I don't care that Windows doesn't recognize avast!--I just changed the setting to I'll do it mylself.
avast is immediatly recognized by Windows XP SP2 Security Center...
Did you install any other antivirus in your system? Which one?
The best things in life are free.

Offline MarieJoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2005, 04:12:43 AM »
Technical, as I was muddling around, I accidently figured out the registration.  I still don't know how it happened.  At any rate, thanks.

As for Windows recognizing Avast!, once I figured out the reigstration thing, I went back to see and Avast! was not recognized.
Thanks for you excellent advice....and patience. 8)
Win XP-SP2, Avast! 5.6-2808, Sygate Personal firewall
Dell Dimension 4500, 768 MB of RAM, Pentium 4

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2005, 01:55:08 PM »
I went back to see and Avast! was not recognized.

Can you answer my other question?

avast is immediatly recognized by Windows XP SP2 Security Center...
Did you install any other antivirus in your system? Which one?
The best things in life are free.

Offline MarieJoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2005, 04:28:27 PM »
NO, only Avast.
I am toying with the idea of installing BitDefender as a secondary AV, and having it NOT open on Startup.
Win XP-SP2, Avast! 5.6-2808, Sygate Personal firewall
Dell Dimension 4500, 768 MB of RAM, Pentium 4

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2005, 04:35:31 PM »
I am toying with the idea of installing BitDefender as a secondary AV, and having it NOT open on Startup.

Free version, no trouble with avast!
But it won't be detected by Security Center either.

It's strange, avast should be recognized immediatly... Are you using the last setup version?
Can you repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

Offline MarieJoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: newly installed Avast!
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2005, 04:48:20 PM »
It's strange, avast should be recognized immediatly... Are you using the last setup version?
I am soooooooo embarassesed!!!
That sentence should read:
Quote
s for Windows recognizing Avast!, once I figured out the reigstration thing, I went back to see and Avast! was recognized.
My bad.....too much brain overload yesterday, fingers and brain were not coordinated.   :o

Everything is fine, and I used got my scheduled tasks to work for an autoscan, thanks to the efforts of the Avast! forum.
I even successfully installed the beta upgrade.
Win XP-SP2, Avast! 5.6-2808, Sygate Personal firewall
Dell Dimension 4500, 768 MB of RAM, Pentium 4