Author Topic: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version  (Read 10551 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2013, 11:43:16 PM »
The update mode is set to Automatic update, for both the Virus definitions and the Program Version.
How do I test if it is working or not?

As you can see from the screenshot, my account is connected to the Server, but when I click to update manually, it tried and then returned the error "cannot connect to server".

I uninstalled previous version of Avast in safe mode, using the Avast Uninstall Utility.

Is there a dll which I can download from Avast site and replace any corrupted file, if any? As I've said, I've done a Repair a few times on this Avast install, and it said successful all the time.

What should I do next?

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2013, 12:08:31 AM »
More info...

I went to the Software Updater and this is what I saw....

To me, it is a bit strange, as I've never seen "Error" before for any of the software monitored by Avast for updates.

Anyone knows what is happening here?


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2013, 01:03:14 AM »
Did you click on the "More Details" to find out why ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2013, 01:09:02 AM »
Did you click on the "More Details" to find out why ???

If you've used the Software updater yourself, you will know "More Details" just tell you your software version and the latest version.

C'mon, why're we not focusing on the problem? I'm not a newbie user of IT and this is freaking frustrating for how can Avast be so unstable as to be so ambiguous in its troubleshooting?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2013, 01:15:22 AM »
The updater has already told you that it's attempt to update failed and
told you to do a manual update.
(Removing the old version and installing the current version.)
 
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2013, 01:20:23 AM »
The updater has already told you that it's attempt to update failed and
told you to do a manual update.
(Removing the old version and installing the current version.)

I did the manual update. So, what're you saying? You lost me.

There is no old version. What're you talking about???????????

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2013, 01:26:39 AM »
Look at your screenshot.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2013, 01:29:00 AM »
I'm posting the screenshot on the Software Updater to illustrate its strange behaviour of quoting Errors, because I've never encountered this before with the Software Updater. I do not need the Software Updater to tell me Error. Usually, what I see is the updater telling me 'Update is Available'. And since I've set updating to manual, it will request me to fix it.

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2013, 01:30:26 AM »
Look at your screenshot.

I can read, thank you. If you like to help me, be constructive please. Thanks.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2013, 01:30:43 AM »
In the free version, the updates are always manual.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2013, 01:48:06 AM »
You still don't get it. I know the update is manual, because to Activate Automate Update for all those software, it is the paid version.

But I don't need Avast to be the gate-keeper for me, if it is Automated Update, because it is a fallacy as most software will bring you to their own website to download their latest versions and sometimes, updating to a newer version will be chargeable. So, we don't want automated update invoked, anyway.

What I'm trying to illustrate is that Avast Software Updater usually will prompt "Update is Available" and not that "Error" thing.
If this is normal for the Software Updater, then it is basically useless and I should disable it. I'm trying to find out if this is normal behaviour, or is my Avast Software Updater having some kind of internet connectivity issue preventing it from finding if an update is available or not. That's all.

My main problem is still the "cannot connect to Server" when I tried to update my Virus Definitions and Program.

I am sharing all these screenshots because I'm not sure if all these problems are related to one another.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2013, 02:25:21 AM »
They aren't related. Software Updater is a new feature for this version.
It's also selectable and if you're doing a custom install, you can bypass this feature.
If you do a repair, you can also uninstall this feature.


Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2013, 02:40:29 AM »
They aren't related. Software Updater is a new feature for this version.
It's also selectable and if you're doing a custom install, you can bypass this feature.
If you do a repair, you can also uninstall this feature.

So how does this answer my question about "Error" shown instead of "Update Available"?

Back to my main problem, who knows how to solve my "cannot connect to Server" problem too?

Arizona

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2013, 02:57:06 AM »
Try this settings top right in gui,updates set vps to auto set progeam to manual, my computer is allways connected, proxy set to direct connection no proxy. Then try right click tray icon check for vps update.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2013, 03:01:08 AM by Arizona »

bigspanner

  • Guest
Re: I used the Uninstall Utility, yet Avast says I've a previous version
« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2013, 03:09:24 AM »
I went to reset the Software Updater database and the Software Updater issue is resolved. :)



Now, I need to resolve the "cannot connect to Server" issue.