Author Topic: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!  (Read 5498 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Martoch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« on: March 18, 2005, 08:09:14 AM »
Strange...when I try to run services.msc and gpedit.msc  in WinXP Pro with start-run like I normally would, I get this ActiveX message.



I also get that error while trying to launch Avast Pro via Start--Programs or right clicking the icon and selecting 'start Avast antivirus'.  When I click 'yes', I get the error below...when I click 'no', Avast actually stays open.  ::)

With the .msc's, these are the error results:

If I click 'no', it opens but with ZERO information and in extended view instead of standard.

If I click 'yes, I get this every time:



Whether I click OK or Cancel, it terminates.

I've already uninstalled Avast once and the errors were gone...upon reinstalling, they're back...I tried the 'repair' option that seemed to help this guy, but that didn't help either.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=9119.0

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Martoch

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11796
    • AVAST Software
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2005, 09:54:59 AM »
What is the exact build of avast! you use?

Offline Martoch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2005, 02:34:27 PM »
4.6 v623

I was able to get my .msc's fixed...I repaired Avast TWICE, rebooted twice after the 2nd repair.

Now I don't get the error when I try to launch any .msc programs, but I still get it when launching Avast itself.  I had to restore my view settings with Services and Group Policy Editor with this.
http://www.petri.co.il/save_settings_to_administrative_tools.htm

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2005, 04:49:13 PM »
Has Norton AV ever been installed on this machine?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Martoch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2005, 02:07:26 AM »
Yep, Norton Internet Security 2004 was installed.

No, I did not use the custom Symantec uninstaller (didn't know there was one).  I just uninstalled everything via add/remove.

*gulp*

So what's the bad news?
 :'(

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2005, 07:05:21 AM »
Take a good look in here http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/docid/2001092114452606 , and read all those instructions. Download file called Rnav2003.exe and use it.

I'm not sure, but it may be good thing to reinstall avast! after you completely removed all traces of Norton from your system.

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2005, 08:53:59 AM »
Sasha, actually this link is for Norton 2003 (or earlier).
The relevant link is here: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2004071910434606?Open&src=sg&docid=2004091310145206&nsf=nav.nsf&view=5faa3ca6df6f549888256edd0061c0a4&dtype=&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2005&osv=&osv_lvl=


From my experience, the most important are sections 2 and 3 on this page. I.e. applying the reg file and reinstalling "Windows Script 5.6".

Are making these changes, everything should be fine.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2005, 02:34:12 PM »
Sorry Vlk and thanks for correcting me, you're right.... My apology guys. I haven't noticed he said 2004  :-[ My bad...

Yep, Norton Internet Security 2004 was installed....

Sorry again, but at least he's got the picture what he has to do in cases like this.

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline Martoch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2005, 06:06:52 PM »
Awesome, thanks for the info (and link)...I'll check this out later today and post back with my results.

 ;D

Offline Martoch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2005, 06:14:07 PM »
Okay...being the computer geek that I am, I just couldn't wait.  I only performed steps 2 & 3 (registry removal and script
install) and everything seems to be back to normal.  No more error messages when I launch Avast!

Thanks a ton guys, you're a great bunch.
 ;)

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Famous ActiveX error--getting frustrated here!
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2005, 06:21:14 PM »
Alwil is a greatest bunch of people ever, I am sorry that I am not part of the Alwil team, sure it would be my pleasure working for them  :D
...but, I am happy (as well as many other members of avast! forums technical support) that I am able to hang around and provide my help if needed. Greatest satisfaction is when we see people happy because we worked on their problem together. If you are happy, everyone will be, believe me.  ;)

Vlk helped you a lot, he is just proving that they are greatest !

Hang around and try to help others when needed. Believe me they will know how to appreciate your trying...

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s