Author Topic: 1.5 Gigs HD space?  (Read 3008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline negatus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
1.5 Gigs HD space?
« on: October 22, 2014, 07:21:49 PM »
Should Avast! really be taking up 1.5 GB of my smallish HD?  Are there old temp files that should be manually deleted?  Thanks for any insight and advice.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2014, 07:35:21 PM »
There's lots posted about this
Try reading here:https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157645.0
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline negatus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2014, 07:49:50 PM »
Thanks for the link.  Maybe I missed the post, but should I delete some of these Ng folders?

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2014, 07:53:02 PM »
No. Leave them as they are :)

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2014, 07:53:58 PM »
Thanks for the link.  Maybe I missed the post, but should I delete some of these Ng folders?

I personally wouldn't delete anything,
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline negatus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2014, 07:56:38 PM »
Alright, thanks.

Will this be fixed or is it the new normal?  If it is, I'll need to find something else.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2014, 07:58:06 PM »
Alright, thanks.

Will this be fixed or is it the new normal?  If it is, I'll need to find something else.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157166.msg1136984#msg1136984

NG machine is created only once next 2 NG machines are cloned (their 400Mb files are hardlinks to the first NG machine; so only 400Mb is occupied; you can use "fsutil hardlink list" command to verify it). When a process is run in NG, it'll use a pre-prepared NG machine so we won't waste time for creating.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2014, 08:02:23 PM »
Alright, thanks.

Will this be fixed or is it the new normal?  If it is, I'll need to find something else.

So the way I understand it is that it may show/say 1.5GB are taken/occupied BUT REALLY only 400MB is taken up.

Edit: It would be better to have the Realtime Disk space occupied shown/stated
« Last Edit: October 22, 2014, 08:03:56 PM by schmidthouse »
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline negatus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2014, 08:08:48 PM »
If my Windows PC reports the usage as 1.5GB then whether actually used or not, hasn't it been reserved and thus not useable?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7083
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: 1.5 Gigs HD space?
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2014, 08:12:57 PM »
If my Windows PC reports the usage as 1.5GB then whether actually used or not, hasn't it been reserved and thus not useable?

I don't know, not sure :)
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE