Author Topic: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?  (Read 9029 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline websave

  • Android developing FTW!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Android beginner developer
I am re-installing both, what exceptions should I add?
Avast! Antivurus 2014.9.0.2006 MBAM WOT

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 04:20:46 AM »
Pretty easy. Open task manager and exclude each process from each software. Also exclude the program files folder.

Again I will stress that you do not need a 3rd party firewall. You have a brand new OS and you have already installed and uninstalled way too much security.

Are you using D+? Did you only download Comodo firewall and not CIS? Make all the Avast processes trusted in D+ and the firewall. But there is also an Avast process that is there when only updating. Avast has a global exclusion under settings.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 04:23:47 AM by Aventador »

Offline websave

  • Android developing FTW!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Android beginner developer
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 12:00:32 AM »
I only have COMODO firewall. I will disable D+ if absolutely necessary.
Avast! Antivurus 2014.9.0.2006 MBAM WOT

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 01:03:17 AM »
Avast has a BB. Comodo has D+. D+ is a HIPS which can conflict with Avast's BB. So if you disable D+ (which is the back bone of Comodo) then all your left with is a plan firewall that is no better then Windows firewall. So why use Comodo then? Just use Avast with Windows 8 firewall. Believe you me that's all you need. Are you behind a router with NAT? If so all the better.

Using a behavior blocker is fine. Using a HIPS is fine. Using both together is never a good idea. If you like Comodo so much then why not just use CIS 6?

Offline websave

  • Android developing FTW!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
  • Android beginner developer
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2013, 02:53:00 PM »
Which is better? Avast's BB or COMODO's D+?
Avast! Antivurus 2014.9.0.2006 MBAM WOT

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2013, 03:02:37 PM »
Oh gezzz your on your own now. That question will start a whole argument. Again the need for a 3rd party firewall with Windows Vista, 7 and 8 is I nesassary. Are you behind a router with NAT? If so you do not need a 3rd party firewall. Other then that I'm out of here.

First of you should read up on exactly what a behavior blocker is and what a host intrusion prevention is. Then decide for yourself. All HIPS require uset intervention to be effective and also require knowledge of what is safe and what is not. A behavior blocker is mainly automatic based on the cloud.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 03:10:47 PM by Aventador »

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2013, 03:23:50 AM »
Comodo also has a BB, I use the BB and D+ with all Avast's shields and things are fine.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2013, 03:26:33 AM »
Are you using CIS or Comodo Firewall? And you should not use both BB's together. It's called overlapping security.

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2013, 03:28:10 AM »
Just Comodo firewall, there is nothing wrong with using them together many people do.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2013, 03:31:39 AM »
Oh geezz not another one. Please do some research and come back. Using 2 BB's is like using 2 antiviruses. Sure they may run together fine but eventually it will cause a problem. Just cause it with a doesn't mean it's making you more secure. It's actually doing the opposite.

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2013, 03:40:06 AM »
We'll have to agree to disagree on that. :)
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2013, 03:48:22 AM »
No it's a fact. Like I said do some research. 15+ years of computer experience is how I know this.

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2013, 03:54:46 AM »
I got Avast's BB mixed up with its behaviour shield. If by the BB you mean the 'auto sandbox' then I have that turned off.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline jefferson sant

  • Starting Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 6800
  • volunteer
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2013, 05:11:15 AM »
I only have COMODO firewall. I will disable D+ if absolutely necessary.

There is a great chance of interference on each other
provided you take care to disable options sandbox and detector behavior Avast 8 to avoid conflicts with the HIPS Comodo Firewall which also has a sandbox.

Offline Aventador

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 622
Re: What exceptions should I set in avast and COMODO firewall?
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2013, 08:20:48 AM »
I only have COMODO firewall. I will disable D+ if absolutely necessary.

There is a great chance of interference on each other
provided you take care to disable options sandbox and detector behavior Avast 8 to avoid conflicts with the HIPS Comodo Firewall which also has a sandbox.

Exactly!