Author Topic: Avast 8 BSOD.. went back to older Avast and it fixed it  (Read 29874 times)

ChasErnst

Avast 8 BSOD.. went back to older Avast and it fixed it
« on: May 25, 2013, 12:05:22 AM »
I have been using Avast for many years and never ever had any issues with it. Recently rebuilt my machine and installed the latest Avast and boom... constant Blue screen of death. Because I never had issues with Avast before I thought for sure it was another bogus driver or user error etc. Reinstalled Vista 64 and as soon as Avast went on... blue screen.

I have a AMD 8 core 990fx based machine, 16gb ram

Like the subject says... went back to the older version of Avast and every thing is smooth as butter.

couldn't put the dmp file in here... too big... so here is a link

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7155952/Mini052413-01.zip

here is what WhoCrashed is saying.

On Fri 5/24/2013 11:46:24 AM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini052413-37.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x57150)
Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFFA600C74F000, 0x0, 0xFFFFF80002928E2E, 0x0)
Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
file path: C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: NT Kernel & System
Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver that cannot be identified at this time.

On Fri 5/24/2013 11:46:24 AM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\memory.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: ntkrnlmp.exe (nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x0)
Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFFA600C74F000, 0x0, 0xFFFFF80002928E2E, 0x0)
Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.