Author Topic: Excessive false positives  (Read 10048 times)

Abdul69

Excessive false positives
« on: May 27, 2013, 05:02:23 AM »
I have been using Avast for over 7 years and have found it to be pretty good compared to other anti-virus solutions out there. I use it on multiple systems daily and even used to pay for it before all the useful stuff became completely free. One thing I have noticed lately that is different from the past 7 years is that the number of false positives seems to be through the roof. It seems that Avast has a fear of just about every zip or self extracting exe, or even just exe files in general. It's starting to get tedious and I fear that it will foster complacency because it is getting to the point that I cannot go a full day without Avast blocking me from doing something legitimate. I wonder if this is where the software is heading (excessive paranoia), or a temporary blip on the radar of smooth sailing.

In the meantime I'll keep filling out the false positive reports and hope that Avast pay attention to them.

Aventador

Re: Excessive false positives
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2013, 05:10:41 AM »
Well whatever programs you are using are obviously out of the ordinary. I have AL of Avast's shields set to high and still have never received once false positive. As in matter of fact Avast has recently scored very well in AV Comparatives false positive test.

http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart1.php

Abdul69

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2013, 05:15:32 AM »
Yeah obviously...  :o  ???

My last Avast virus warning was September 2011, but I have had almost 20 since the start of April this year. So I guess I just started using weird applications 2 months ago... Uh I think not. I'm doing the same stuff I have always been doing.

Abdul69

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2013, 05:23:15 AM »
I'll add that most (if not all) of the false positives seem to be reported as "Win32:Evo-gen [Susp]" virus.

Aventador

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2013, 05:24:40 AM »