Author Topic: Windows Security Alert  (Read 6299 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Johnsonr

  • Guest
Windows Security Alert
« on: April 05, 2005, 10:12:21 PM »
 ??? Hi there - hope someone can help.

I'm running XP Home ed. and every time I boot up - I get this anoying speech bubble pop out of the system tray telling me that my computer may not be protected.  When I go to the security centre I'm told that Windows has not been able to detect my Antivirus software and to get an alternative programme.

I've got AVAST home edition and, to be honest, it seems to work fine.  I just find the Window's thing really anoying. 

Does anyone know if I can sort this out?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 10:36:56 PM »
Did you install any other antivirus in your system? Even in the past?
Do you use ProtectGuard, TeaTimer, Ad-watch or any other application that monitors startup items?
Do you use a firewall? Can you disable it and try to repair avast (Control Panel)?
The best things in life are free.

niko

  • Guest
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2005, 10:54:03 PM »
Hi Johnsonr,
in Windows "security center" have you check the box "I've got my own AV"?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2005, 11:00:46 PM »
What version of XP Home, XP home,  XP home SP1, XP home SP2?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Johnsonr

  • Guest
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2005, 11:14:17 PM »
I'm running XP Home SP2.  I've never had any other AV software installed.

I've tried ticking the box which says I'll monitor my AVsoftware myself and this prevents the pop up.  However, is XP not capable of monitoring Avast for me?  I'm sure it used to tell me that AV was upto date.  Also, when I try to "repair" Avast via the Control Panel - I notice that the programme has not been used for some time.  This is not right as Resident Protection is always running.  Do i have problems here?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2005, 11:46:12 PM »
However, is XP not capable of monitoring Avast for me?  I'm sure it used to tell me that AV was upto date.  Also, when I try to "repair" Avast via the Control Panel - I notice that the programme has not been used for some time.  This is not right as Resident Protection is always running.  Do i have problems here?
Yes, anything is messed in your system.
Can you post the contents of these Windows Registry keys in your system?
Maybe you do not have all of them (don't worry).

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet004\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD


What version of XP Home, XP home, XP home SP1, XP home SP2?
XP Home and XP home SP1 do not have Central Security...
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2005, 01:49:13 AM »
  Also, when I try to "repair" Avast via the Control Panel - I notice that the programme has not been used for some time.  This is not right as Resident Protection is always running.  Do i have problems here?

Don't worry about the "frequently", "rarely", etc., or the last date supposedly used, as shown in Add-Remove.  I don't think any of us has ever figured out why, but it's totally unreliable in how it reports those.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Johnsonr

  • Guest
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2005, 10:55:12 AM »
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswMonVd.dll

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswMonVd.dll

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
No ControlSet002

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswMonVd.dll

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet004\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
No ControlSet004

Thanks for your efforts people - any further thoughts?  Do the missing Registry Keys mean anything?


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2005, 04:49:39 PM »
Do the missing Registry Keys mean anything?
They're ok. The first two are the important ones here. They're correct.

Can you answer my prior questions?
Quote
Do you use ProtectGuard, TeaTimer, Ad-watch or any other application that monitors startup items?
Do you use a firewall? Can you disable it and try to repair avast (Control Panel)?
The best things in life are free.

Johnsonr

  • Guest
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2005, 04:56:05 PM »

Can you answer my prior questions?
Quote
Do you use ProtectGuard, TeaTimer, Ad-watch or any other application that monitors startup items?
Do you use a firewall? Can you disable it and try to repair avast (Control Panel)?
Quote

Tried disabling windows firewall and repairing Avast - this didn't help.  I don't use ProtectGuard, Teatime or Ad-watch although I am using the new Microsoft Spyware (Beta, I think) programme which I think monitors start up items.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2005, 05:02:09 PM by Johnsonr »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2005, 05:40:42 PM »
Sorry, Johnson... I'm empty.
This happened to me some time ago but on next boot, everything worked again.
For me, the problem was the Firewall. In other time, the ProtectGuard  :(
The best things in life are free.

Johnsonr

  • Guest
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2005, 08:15:19 PM »
Ah well - thanks for your time anyway.

Anyone else?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Windows Security Alert
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2005, 10:07:19 PM »
Anyone here - Google is your friend, a search for 'XP Security Center not detecting anti-virus program' without the quotes returns many hits - this one is from MS so may be the most relevant http://support.microsoft.com/kb/883792 - if not check out some of the others.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security