Author Topic: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else  (Read 17005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« on: May 30, 2013, 07:33:10 PM »
So, I just started my computer. Normally, the green update popup says the definitions version, but today it did not. Did anyone else notice the same change?

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 07:37:27 PM »
Yep, I guess something new has been added.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2013, 08:12:32 PM »
I have yet to see it. Could someone post a screenshot?  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2013, 08:35:44 PM »
Here ya go but this one gives more information.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 08:56:27 PM by jadinolf »
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2013, 09:18:06 PM »
Better example
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2013, 08:32:56 PM »
Same for me again today

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2013, 08:35:52 PM »
Same for me again today
I'm not sure if we should be concerned although it IS nice to see if it's the first second or more update for the day.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline ganon11000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2013, 09:48:57 PM »
I like it telling you what definition its on  :(
My main PC: GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3, Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.6GHz, 4X 2GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9, ASUS GTX 560 Ti with an Arctic Accelero Extreme, NZXT Phantom 410, 256GB OCZ Vector SSD, 1.5TB SeaGate 7200.11, 1TB SeaGate SV35.5.
My TV PC: ASRock G31M-S R2.0, Intel C2D E8400, 4GB DDR2 800MHz, Palit NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT 512MB Green Edition.
Laptops: IBM ThinkPad A31, IBM ThinkPad T420
Phones: LG Optimus 2X and a Nexus 4 8GB

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2013, 09:52:40 PM »
Mine had the vps version included.  ???
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2013, 09:54:52 PM »
Can some admin or someone help us get this figured out. I run Internet Security, not Pro or Free. Does that have anything to do with this?

Offline ganon11000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2013, 10:01:16 PM »
Mine had the vps version included.  ???

And mine don't :(
My main PC: GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3, Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.6GHz, 4X 2GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9, ASUS GTX 560 Ti with an Arctic Accelero Extreme, NZXT Phantom 410, 256GB OCZ Vector SSD, 1.5TB SeaGate 7200.11, 1TB SeaGate SV35.5.
My TV PC: ASRock G31M-S R2.0, Intel C2D E8400, 4GB DDR2 800MHz, Palit NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT 512MB Green Edition.
Laptops: IBM ThinkPad A31, IBM ThinkPad T420
Phones: LG Optimus 2X and a Nexus 4 8GB

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2013, 10:02:41 PM »
is it buy any chance that a running computer that picks up an update while running gets the VPS number? but a newly started up one does not get the VPS?

Offline ganon11000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2013, 10:09:14 PM »
nope, both have no number for me!!!
My main PC: GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3, Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.6GHz, 4X 2GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9, ASUS GTX 560 Ti with an Arctic Accelero Extreme, NZXT Phantom 410, 256GB OCZ Vector SSD, 1.5TB SeaGate 7200.11, 1TB SeaGate SV35.5.
My TV PC: ASRock G31M-S R2.0, Intel C2D E8400, 4GB DDR2 800MHz, Palit NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT 512MB Green Edition.
Laptops: IBM ThinkPad A31, IBM ThinkPad T420
Phones: LG Optimus 2X and a Nexus 4 8GB

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6714
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2013, 10:21:19 PM »
This one just happened.  8)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2013, 11:01:50 PM »
This one just happened.  8)

Some of you people are blessed.

I assume you have stock in the company? 8)
printed on 100% recycled bytes