Author Topic: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else  (Read 17032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ganon11000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #45 on: June 05, 2013, 04:06:30 PM »
some of my pcs do the full one some do the mini one, why?
My main PC: GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3, Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.6GHz, 4X 2GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9, ASUS GTX 560 Ti with an Arctic Accelero Extreme, NZXT Phantom 410, 256GB OCZ Vector SSD, 1.5TB SeaGate 7200.11, 1TB SeaGate SV35.5.
My TV PC: ASRock G31M-S R2.0, Intel C2D E8400, 4GB DDR2 800MHz, Palit NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT 512MB Green Edition.
Laptops: IBM ThinkPad A31, IBM ThinkPad T420
Phones: LG Optimus 2X and a Nexus 4 8GB

Offline DBenjamin85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #46 on: June 06, 2013, 01:56:31 AM »
some of my pcs do the full one some do the mini one, why?

Apparently it's normal though I really don't know how to explain why it's this way for some and not for others, doesn't really seem to have an explanation, for example I live in the UK and someone else from the UK is seeing the regular pop-ups from what I've gathered.  If you right click the toolbar you can ask to view the last pop up.  It shows the definition update number but no longer has the boxed link at the bottom saying "show more details" (or something along those lines).

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #47 on: June 06, 2013, 03:02:10 AM »
Does anyone know if or when the mini popup problem will be solved?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42814
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #48 on: June 06, 2013, 05:30:12 AM »
Does anyone know if or when the mini popup problem will be solved?
Since there isn't any problem, no fix is needed.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DBenjamin85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #49 on: June 06, 2013, 11:27:41 AM »
Does anyone know if or when the mini popup problem will be solved?
Since there isn't any problem, no fix is needed.

Not sure I'd agree, I think a lot of people's minds would be put at ease if everybody had their programs running the same way, not differently.  I've had a subscription all this year with the pop-ups being as they were before for the past 10 months and now for the last two my program is different from other peoples, it makes me worry what else is different, what else isn't working the same way/properly.  I'm in the process of deciding whether to renew my subscription and I'm rather undecided yet... though I would like my avast! program is changing and fixing even if the issue is something minor.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2013, 08:13:38 PM by DBenjamin85 »

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 601
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #50 on: June 06, 2013, 05:26:57 PM »
After reading the causes ,do not think that it is a problem, but if that should be further clarified these things therefore confuse users when a day for changes if there is another apparent reason  ;)
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert

Offline nfmetals

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #51 on: June 06, 2013, 09:14:06 PM »
Same issue for me in my laptop/Vista and PC/XP . I use IS paid version.

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #52 on: June 10, 2013, 02:57:43 AM »
Ok, regardless the fact that it is benign, it is a problem.

When is this going to get fixed!?!?

Offline DBenjamin85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #53 on: June 10, 2013, 12:34:56 PM »
Still getting it here too, just popped up a second ago.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5410
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #54 on: June 10, 2013, 09:07:14 PM »
Does anyone know if or when the mini popup problem will be solved?
Don't think there is a problem here.  New popup is actually smaller than the old, and, I feel, less obtrusive than the old one was.  We're really talking about an issue that has been plaguing the forum for months, that of obtrusive pop-ups in the old versions, and this is a resulting change due to numerous complaints about that. 

Personally, I think avast! nailed this one.

As I said earlier, with 170 million + active users, not all users are going to get this update rolled out to them at the same time.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI version 1.0.415.  Current version is back to Avast Internet Security.

Offline leftisthominid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #55 on: June 26, 2013, 02:38:41 AM »
So today after aborting a bootscan, I had an avast! glitch and some of my shields were off and the program was unresponsive to re-enabling them. I restarted, everything was fine then and I repaired my installation just in case. I got the full sized proper update notification back inadvertently!

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 601
  • Warrior Forospyware
    • Forospyware
Re: My update pop-up changed, did this happen for anyone else
« Reply #56 on: June 26, 2013, 11:52:28 AM »
So today after aborting a bootscan, I had an avast! glitch and some of my shields were off and the program was unresponsive to re-enabling them. I restarted, everything was fine then and I repaired my installation just in case. I got the full sized proper update notification back inadvertently!
idem today i recived full update notification :)
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Internet explorer 11 y firefox latest-Seguridad:Avast Internet Security- Malwarebytes Premiun- Hitman Pro alert