Author Topic: Threat:Win32:Malware-gen  (Read 4257 times)

assist please

Threat:Win32:Malware-gen
« on: July 01, 2013, 09:52:49 PM »
DavidR -Überevangelist – Thank you.
My first Avast Windows XP scan was unfortunate.

It indicated a “Threat:Win32:Malware-gen” in the following files:

C:\drivers\video\onboard\igfxpers.exe
C:\i386\igfxpers.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
              …Two more were for FreeNetXero.exe and I don’t want them.

The files are in the Virus Chest.  Is it POSSIBLE for the Malware to be removed and can these files then be RESTORED?  ARE THEY IMPORTANT??

I’m not very tech savvy. SHOULD I TAKE the laptop to a computer repair shop to try and remove the Malware and Restore the files – or are they unimportant? 

An Avast person wanted to charge me an annual fee to check remotely for conflict files but I’ve already gotten misdirected by an old Avast phone number to an “iYogi” man who misrepresented himself as Avast and remotely went into my computer. I’m worried that that was where to malware came from.  So I’d rather go local. 

Is quick repair urgent?  Should I go to a pro?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Threat:Win32:Malware-gen
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 10:42:16 PM »
Ideally this should have been added to your first topic as it is related (keeps the prior information and this together); as I said about the infected/detected restore point, just let avast move that to the chest.

No need to take your laptop to repair shop unless you have a surplus of money, otherwise stick with the avast forums ;D

This detection on the igfxpers.exe (in three locations) needs further investigation as it is a legit file name (doesn't mean it is clean though) to confirm or deny the detection as it could be a false positive.